Education updates

  • Bhaskar Reddy Bathula, of Colorado Springs (80921), has graduated from University of the Cumberlands, Williams, Kentucky, with a Master of Science in Information Technology.
  • Jameson R. Bush, of Monument, was named to the Fall 2021 Honor Roll at Bethany College in Lindsborg, Kansas. He is a Management major.
  • Katie Doiron, of Monument, was named to the 2021 fall semester Dean’s List at Ohio Wesleyan University in Delaware, Ohio.
  • Alianna Higgins, of Colorado Springs (80921), made the Dean’s List for the fall 2021 semester at Hastings College in Hastings, Neb.
  • Mackenzie Pepper, of Monument (80132), was named to the Saint Mary’s College Dean’s List for the 2021 fall semester. The college is in Notre Dame, Indiana.
  • Jonathan Thomas, of Colorado Springs (80921), was named to Southern New Hampshire University's Fall 2021 Dean's List. The university is based in Manchester, N.H.
  • Saxon Wright, of Monument, was named to the Fall 2021 President’s List at Chadron State College in Chadron, Neb.
  • The following Tri-Lakes-area residents were named to fall 2021 Dean’s List at Harding University in Searcy, Arkansas: Lisanne Cheatham, a Sophomore stuyding integrated marketing communication, of Colorado Springs (80908); Katie Nalley, a sophomore stuyding special education, of Monument (80132); Jenna Lewis, a Senior stuyding interior design, of Monument (80132); and Kylea Roitsch, a freshman studying health studies, of Colorado Springs (80908).

Tri-Lakes Women’s Club 2022 grant process opens Jan. 15

The Tri-Lakes Women’s Club’s grant application for 2022 will be available Jan. 15 through March 15 on the club’s website, tlwc.net.

Organizations eligible to apply for a grant — a maximum of $2,000 — include nonprofits, public service organizations and public schools that serve the Tri-Lakes area. The application package includes instructions as well as other important qualifying information.

The TLWC program focuses on smaller organizations that typically do not have the staffing or resources to pursue grants from major granting foundations.

Since 1973, TLWC has provided over $1 million in grant funds to local organizations. Previous recipients include local fire and police departments, Emergency Incident Support, Mountain Community Senior Services, Adaptive Physical Education Programs, Rocky Mountain Music Alliance, Tri-Lakes Cares, Monumental Impact, the Western Museum of Mining and Industry, and numerous Lewis-Palmer School District 38 schools.

MVEA accepting scholarship applications

Mountain View Electric Association is awarding up to $27,000 in scholarships to members, or their dependents, who are continuing their education.

MVEA’s scholarship program includes 17 $1,000 scholarships to accredited colleges, universities, junior or community colleges. MVEA also offers one $2,000 Power Engineer Scholarship for a current college student pursuing a power engineering career, two $2,000 Power Lineman Scholarships for those pursuing a career through a lineworker training program, and up to four $1,000 Vocational/Technical scholarships. Applicants for the Power Lineman Scholarship and Vocational/Technical Scholarships can be non-traditional students, or those not immediately entering college following their high school graduation.

Recipients will be chosen through a computerized, random selection procedure out of all qualified applicants.

Visit www.mvea.coop/scholarships to fill out an application and for more information. Scholarship applications are due by Monday, Jan. 17.

MVEA is an electric cooperative that was organized in 1941. It serves more than 51,000 members and over 60,000 meters in portions of eight counties — Arapahoe, Crowley, Douglas, Elbert, El Paso, Lincoln, Pueblo, and Washington.

Volunteers needed for Arkansas Basin Roundtable

The El Paso County Board of Commissioners is seeking one community-minded volunteer to serve on the Arkansas Basin Roundtable. Applications are due by Jan. 27.

The Arkansas Basin Roundtable consists of representatives from every county in the Arkansas River basin. Members include municipal, agricultural, environmental, recreational, industrial interests as well as holders of adjudicated water rights. While meeting the water resource needs of all water users within the Arkansas basin, projects supported by the Roundtable also support accomplishing the goals of the Arkansas Basin Implementation Plan and the Colorado Water Plan. The Roundtable serves as a forum for discussion of regional and local water issues and provides proponents of water projects the opportunity to gain support, secure funding, and partner with other stakeholders to implement projects aligned with the Roundtable's goals.

Meetings are typically held on the second Wednesday of every month from 12:30-2:30 p.m.

The volunteer application is located at elpasoco.com. Send completed applications to ingridmobley@elpasoco.com.

CSPD seeking volunteers for Victim Advocacy Unit

The Colorado Springs Police Department’s Victim Advocacy Unit is seeking volunteers to help provide support and critical resources to crime victims in Colorado Springs.

The unit provides services and support to those who have been victimized by crimes that are covered by Colorado’s Victim Rights Act. 

After applying, those who are selected to become a VAU volunteer will be provided 72 hours of specialized training at the VAU Volunteer Victim Advocate Training Academy starting March 21. The academy is comprised of four-hour classes on Monday and Thursday evenings.

Participants will be trained in victim advocacy skills including crisis intervention, community resources and Victim Advocacy Unit operations. Students will also gain a general understanding on the various units and functions of CSPD.

In conjunction with the academy, on-the-job training is provided to those volunteers recruited to the unit. Applications are due March 7.

Complete the application at springscaps.org. All applicants are required to complete a criminal background check and polygraph prior to enrollment in the training academy.

Load comments