Colorado Rockies second baseman D.J. LeMahieu and third baseman Nolan Arenado won National League Gold Gloves on Sunday night as they were recognized for their excellent defensive play during the 2018 season.

Arenado won his sixth straight Gold Glove. For LeMahieu, it was his third Gold Glove.

Arenado started the 2018 season as the first infielder in MLB history to begin his career with five consecutive Gold Gloves.

Arenado now has the most Gold Gloves in Colorado history. Right fielder Larry Walker won five Gold Gloves (1997, 1998, 1999, 2001, 2002).

Andrew McCutchen, DJ LeMahieu
Caption +

Pittsburgh Pirates' Andrew McCutchen, right, avoids the tag of Colorado Rockies second baseman DJ LeMahieu to steal second during the first inning of a baseball game, Friday, Aug. 28, 2015, in Pittsburgh. (AP Photo/Keith Srakocic)

Show MoreShow Less

Meanwhile, Mookie Betts and the Boston Red Sox just keep winning.

Betts, Jackie Bradley Jr. and Ian Kinsler won Gold Gloves for the World Series champion Red Sox on Sunday night, and the Atlanta Braves also were recognized for their fielding excellence this season.

The 26-year-old Betts won for the third straight year. He also is a top contender for the AL MVP award.

Kinsler got his second Gold Glove at second base, and Bradley won for the first time in center. Teammate Andrew Benintendi also was nominated, but Kansas City Royals left fielder Alex Gordon took home his sixth Gold Glove instead.

Atlanta added three Gold Gloves to its surprise NL East title this season. Freddie Freeman and Cubs slugger Anthony Rizzo tied for the award at first base, and center fielder Ender Inciarte and right fielder Nick Markakis also were honored for the Braves.

It's the third straight Gold Glove for Inciarte. Markakis won for the first time in the NL and third time overall, ending Jason Heyward's run of four in a row.

Oakland, Colorado and Arizona each had two Gold Glove winners in the infield.

First baseman Matt Olson and third baseman Matt Chapman were recognized for the Athletics. Diamondbacks pitcher Zack Greinke got his fifth consecutive Gold Glove award, and teammate Nick Ahmed won for the first time at shortstop.

St. Louis catcher Yadier Molina took home his ninth Gold Glove, but his first since 2015. It was a similar situation at catcher in the AL, with Salvador Perez winning for Kansas City for the fifth time after he was unseated by Martin Maldonado last year.

Pittsburgh left fielder Corey Dickerson rounds out the NL winners. Houston pitcher Dallas Keuchel and Los Angeles Angels shortstop Andrelton Simmons also won in the AL.


Load comments