Hall of Fame Football Peyton Manning

Former Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning carries the Vince Lombardi Trophy from Super Bowl 50 onto the field prior to a Sept. 8, 2016, game against the Panthers in Denver.

Former Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning, who helped Denver win Super Bowl 50 in 2015-16, has been voted into the Broncos Ring of Fame, the team announced Tuesday.

“I’m incredibly honored to be named to the Broncos Ring of Fame," Manning said in a statement. "Having been on the field when other members of the Ring of Fame have been inducted, you can tell what a special fraternity it is and how excited they are to join such a distinguished group. From Floyd Little to Karl Mecklenburg to Steve Atwater to many others, I’ve always looked up at the names around the stadium and admired the great players the Broncos have had over the years. I’m very humbled to now join them as a Ring of Famer.

"It ended up being a great decision to come here not only to play for the Broncos but to be part of this special community. Denver is a destination city. Our family is proud to call Denver our home and live in this community even after football."

Manning, who played four seasons for the Broncos from 2012-2015, received a unanimous vote by the Ring of Fame board. 

"It comes as no surprise that Peyton Manning was unanimously elected as the 35th member of the Denver Broncos Ring of Fame," Broncos President and CEO Joe Ellis said in a statement. "His four seasons in Denver were marked by record-setting individual success and exceptional leadership that helped the Broncos to multiple Super Bowls and one of the winningest periods in team history.

"Peyton defined greatness as a Bronco. We're thrilled that he will now join the other Broncos legends as our newest Ring of Famer."

Manning is the 35th Bronco to be inducted into the Ring of Fame and the fifth quarterback, joining John Elway, Frank Tripucka, Charley Johnson and Craig Morton. He's also the second player to be voted into the Ring of Fame and the Pro Football Hall of Fame in the same year, with cornerback Champ Bailey doing so in 2019. 

Joining the Broncos in 2012, Manning was named the 2012 Comeback Player of the Year, the 2013 MVP, a two-time first-team All-Pro and a three-time Pro Bowler, while leading the Broncos to two Super Bowl appearances. In his four seasons in Denver, he threw for 17,112 yards and 140 touchdowns, and set single-season passing records in 2013, throwing for 5,477 yards and 55 touchdowns. 

"His competitive nature drove his passion to really figure things out, to never leave any stone unturned," linebacker Von Miller said. "He created this sense of urgency for everybody, not just the offense or the defense, but even the janitors, the coaches started coaching different, the cooks — they all had this sort of spark. It was the Peyton Manning effect.

"That's just Peyton. Peyton is Peyton. There will never be another Peyton Manning."

But more than his play on the field, Manning was known as someone who represented the entire organization off the field. He was the ultimate leader for the Broncos. 

"He's an incredible person," kicker Brandon McManus said. "Just the dedication and everything he put into his career and his friendships. He was able to toe those lines of friendship and also demanding such excellence. It made him a truly incredible leader."

Manning's Ring of Fame ceremony will take place at Empower Field on Oct. 31, during the Broncos' game against Washington. 

The 35 members of the Broncos Ring of Fame: 

  • QB Peyton Manning, 2012-15
  • Coach Mike Shanahan, 1984-87, '89-91, ‘95-2008
  • CB Champ Bailey, 2004-13
  • Coach Red Miller, 1977-80
  • K Jason Elam, 1993-2007
  • LB Simon Fletcher, 1985-95
  • S John Lynch, 2004-07
  • Owner Pat Bowlen, 1984-2019
  • Coach Dan Reeves, 1981-92
  • WR Rick Upchurch, 1975-83
  • HB/K Gene Mingo, 1960-64
  • C Tom Nalen, 1994-2008
  • WR Rod Smith, 1994-2007
  • TE Shannon Sharpe, 1990-99, 2002-03
  • RB Terrell Davis, 1995-2002
  • S Steve Atwater, 1989-98
  • T Gary Zimmerman, 1993-97
  • LB Karl Mecklenburg, 1983-94
  • S Dennis Smith, 1981-94
  • QB John Elway, 1983-98
  • CB Louis Wright, 1975-86
  • LB Tom Jackson, 1973-86
  • LB Randy Gradishar, 1974-83
  • QB Craig Morton, 1977-82
  • WR Haven Moses, 1972-81
  • K Jim Turner, 1971-79
  • S Billy Thompson, 1969-81
  • QB Charley Johnson, 1972-75
  • DT Paul Smith, 1968-78
  • QB Frank Tripucka, 1960-63
  • Owner Gerald H. Phipps, 1961-81
  • S Austin “Goose” Gonsoulin, 1960-66
  • DE Rich Jackson, 1967-72
  • RB Floyd Little, 1967-75
  • WR Lionel Taylor, 1960-66
Load comments