DeGette seeks to stop deceit, kickbacks in substance-abuse treatment (copy)

U.S. Rep. Diana DeGette, a Denver Democrat, in a January 2017 photo.

U.S. Rep. Diana DeGette's bid for re-election has won endorsements from scores of prominent Colorado officials and community leaders, including three congressional colleagues, a former governor and a former mayor of Denver, the Denver Democrat's campaign announced Thursday.

More than a dozen current and former state lawmakers are also throwing their support behind DeGette, who is facing a primary challenge from former Colorado House Speaker Crisanta Duran, her campaign said.

"I am honored to have the support of this diverse set of leaders and activists," DeGette said in a statement. "I am working tirelessly on issues like health care, protecting our immigrant communities, gun safety and promoting equality, so it is always nice to be recognized for getting things done."

DeGette has received endorsements from U.S. Reps. Ed Perlmutter, Joe Neguse and Jason Crow; former Gov. Dick Lamm and his wife, Dottie; and former Denver Mayor Wellington Webb and his wife, former state Rep. Wilma Webb.

"This is really a recognition of the congresswoman's effectiveness that this large group of people are all coming together to show their support," said DeGette's campaign spokeswoman, Jennie Peek-Dunstone, who noted that the support comes from "all corners" of the 1st Congressional District.

Current and former state legislators backing DeGette include: House Majority Leader Alec Garnett; state Sens. Lois Court, Steve Fenberg, Rhonda Fields and Brittany Pettersen; state Reps. Adrienne Benavidez, Janet Buckner, Chris Hansen, Tracy Kraft-Tharp, Karen Leaffer, Susan Lontine and Kerry Tipper; and former lawmakers Irene Aguilar, Mike Cerbo, Tom Glass, Lucia Guzman, Anne McGihon, John Morse, Linda Newell and Paula Sandoval.

Other community leaders supporting DeGette include: Tay Anderson, Margaret Atencio, Cynthia Camp, Pat Cortez and Manuel Martinez, Vicki Cowart, Rosario C. de Baca, Stanton Dodge, Cole Finegan,, Dr. Fred Grover Sr., Stephen Hillard, Mark Johnson, Sheila Lieder, Leticia Martinez, Josh Miller, Annette Moore, Portia Prescott, Dawn Reinfeld, James Reyes, Daniel L. Ritchie, Corinne & Mannie Rodriguez, Rosemary Rodriguez, Councilwoman Jordan Sauers, Mike Sawaya, Patti Shwayder-Coffin and Steve Coffin, Vivian Stovall, Ken Toltz, Ted Trimpa, Elbra Wedgeworth, Maya Wheeler, Butterfly White, and J. Gregory Whitehair.

DeGette has held the heavily Democratic seat since 1996. She's faced primary challengers each cycle since 2016.

Load comments