Denver at-large council candidates

The six candidates for two at-large Denver City Council seats debate issues April 2 at the Denver Art Museum. Shown from left are: Jesse Parris, Johnny Hayes, incumbent Deborah Ortega, moderator Wendy Brockman, Tony Pigford, Lynne Langdon and incumbent Robin Kniech.

Denver voters citywide are choosing two at-large members of the city council in the election that ends today, while residents of 11 council districts across the city are filling those seats as well.

All but three of the council races are contested, and there are seven candidates in District 1, six vying for the two at-large spots and for the District 8 seat, and four each in districts 3, 5, 9 and 10.

Northwest Denver's District 1 race may be the hottest, given the number of candidates and the lack of an incumbent; Councilman Rafael Espinoza ended his bid for re-election last December. In the running are Victoria R. Aguilar, Sabrina D’Agosta, Scott Allan Durrah, Praj Kulkarni, David Sabados, Amanda Sandoval and Michael Somma.

Bookmark this story and check back tonight for results in the council races.

West Denver's District 3 also is an open race, with current Councilman Paul Lopez exiting to run for clerk and recorder. Veronica Elizabeth Barela, Annamarie Martinez, Raymond Montoya and Jamie Torres are the candidates there.

Issues in the various council districts vary, but overall, the election will decide the extent of support Mayor Michael Hancock can count on from the council for his proposals -- or, as the case may be, those of his successor.

And across the city, the pace of development and growth are hot topics.

As for the two council slots representing the city as a whole, issues brought up at an April 2 debate ranged from fracking to rent control to bus fares to gentrification.

At-large incumbents Robin Kniech and Deborah “Debbie” Ortega are facing Johnny Hayes, Lynne Langdon, Jesse Lashawn Parris and Tony Pigford for the two at-large positions.

The top two vote getters in the at-large race will be elected. But as for the 11 other council seats, the race will be decided in a June 4 runoff if no one gets more than 50% of the vote.

Incumbents Kevin Flynn in District 2, Paul Kashmann in District 6 and Jolon Clark in District 7 are running unopposed.




Load comments