Election Coverage

With all five seats up for grabs on the Nov. 5 ballot, 54% of 1,502 voters agreed that school board President Tim Braun should be recalled from office. Mary Bielz was the only candidate listed on the ballot to replace him.

Tana Rice, who was appointed to the board in July to replace another member who quit after also being targeted for recall, and Gari Lu Schwab, who was appointed to the board in May, will retain their seats.

The other two seats went to Bill Arrick, a recall proponent who served on the RE-1 board 2006-2010, and Connie Dodrill, director of Cripple Creek’s park and rec department. Arrick won by 25 votes.

El Paso County voters are leading the state in returned ballots for the Nov. 5 election, Clerk and Recorder Chuck Broerman said. Of the approximately 410,000 ballots mailed to voters across the county, about 105,000 of them have been returned.

Election officials have mailed ballots to El Paso County’s more than 400,000 active, registered voters for the Nov. 5 election, the Clerk and …

Two Colorado Springs-area cities have taken a formal stance against the new state law that would award Colorado’s nine Electoral College votes to the presidential candidate who wins the popular vote nationwide, provided enough other states join that compact. The Fountain City Council and Monument Board of Trustees passed resolutions this month declaring opposition.