Tax hikes a key feature of Denver's fall ballot measures

Tuesday is Election Day in Denver, with voters choosing their next mayor and deciding contentious ballot questions on homeless camping and magic mushrooms.

They're also selecting their city council members — 13 across the city — and filling the open clerk and recorder position.

Actually, "Election Day" began weeks ago — April 15, when ballots were mailed out to voters. Ballots have been flowing back ever since.

But Tuesday at 7 p.m., the voting ends — and Colorado Politics will report the winners and losers.

CoPo reporters John C. Ensslin, Ernest Luning and Conrad Swanson, and contributing photographer Andy Colwell, will bring you the results starting soon after the polls close.

Despite the high wattage of the ballot measures and the mayoral race to be decided, Denver voters ahead of Election Day seemed underwhelmed.

Turnout as of Monday night was just under 20%, well below the average 30% response since Denver went to the mail ballot system in 2011.

Besides what's on the ballot, there's also the question to be decided of whether there will be a June 4 runoff election.

Mayor Michael Hancock, seeking a third term, is presumed to be the front runner in that race. But if his five opponents combined capture more than 50% of the vote, even if no one comes close to Hancock, the top two vote-getters will face off next month.

Council races — except for the two citywide at-large positions — could also head to a runoff if no one tops 50%.

One race is pretty much decided — City Auditor Timothy O'Brien is unopposed for re-election.

If you haven't voted yet, it's not too late. But don't drop your ballot in the mail. You'll need to take it to a city drop-off box or Vote Center by 7 p.m.; click here for a map of drop-off locations. You can also vote in person at a Vote Center.

Click here for more information from the Denver Elections Division on how to vote and to view a sample ballot, or call or text 303-653-9668.

Want to know more about the mayoral candidates and ballot measures? Click here for CoPo's coverage.

What's on the ballot? Below are the candidates and questions on the ballot, listed in alphabetical order with incumbency noted. Those elected will serve four-year terms.



Mayor: Lisa Calderón, Stephan “Sekú” Evans, Jamie Giellis, Michael B. Hancock (incumbent), Kalyn Rose Heffernan and Penfield Tate III

Clerk and recorder: Paul D. López, Sarah McCarthy and Peg Perl (no incumbent)

Auditor: Timothy O’Brien (incumbent)



At-Large (two): Robin Kniech (incumbent), Johnny Hayes, Lynne Langdon, Deborah “Debbie” Ortega (incumbent), Jesse Lashawn Parris and Tony Pigford

District 1: Victoria R. Aguilar, Sabrina D’Agosta, Scott Allan Durrah, Praj Kulkarni, David Sabados, Amanda Sandoval and Michael Somma

District 2: Kevin Flynn (incumbent)

District 3: Veronica Elizabeth Barela, Annamarie Martinez, Raymond Montoya and Jamie Torres

District 4: Kendra Black (incumbent) and Colleen Zahradnicek

District 5: Michele Fry, Stephen Replin, Amanda Sawyer and Mary Beth Susman (incumbent)

District 6: Paul Kashmann (incumbent)

District 7: Jolon Clark (incumbent)

District 8: Miguel Adrian Ceballos-Ruiz, Chris Herndon (incumbent), LaMone Noles, Erik Penn, Blair Taylor and Patrick Floyd Thibault

District 9: Albus Brooks (incumbent), Candi CdeBaca, David Anthony Oletski and Jonathan Woodley

District 10: Chris Hinds, Antonio A. Méndez, Wayne New (incumbent) and Tony Smith

District 11: Christine M. Alonzo and Stacie Gilmore (incumbent)



Initiative 300 – Allowing camping on city property across the city and repealing Denver's urban camping ban.

Initiative 301 – Decriminalization of psilocybin mushrooms.

Load comments