Colorado Springs-area events calendar: Tuesday, November 7
Caption +

Through Nov. 12: Denver Film Festival — Ellie Caulkins Opera House, Denver.

Show MoreShow Less

The Denver Film Festival announced its award winners for this year's festival, which ran Nov. 4-15.

"Beginning with our opening night presentation of 'Anomalisa' to closing with 'Coming Through the Rye' with so many unforgettable stories in between, the 38th Denver Film Festival certainly swept away audiences and welcomed filmmakers from around the world to share their impressive work," said festival director Britta Erickson.

Produced by the Denver Film Society, the festival featured over 250 films representing 39 countries with 17 titles local Colorado productions and attracted over 55,000 filmgoers during the annual 12-day celebration.

People's Choice Awards:

Narrative Feature: "Brooklyn"

Documentary Feature: "The Champions"

Short Film: "The House is Innocent"

Music Video: Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats - S.O.B.

Juried Awards:

The Maysles Brothers Award for Best Documentary Film: "Hitchcock/Truffaut" directed by Kent Jones (USA)

"One of the Maysles Brothers special gifts as filmmakers was that they allowed their stories to unfold in front of them with open minds and eyes, with a genuine love for their subjects and an empathy and compassion which gave all of their work beauty and authenticity," stated the jury, which was comprised of: Davis Coombe, Academy Award-winning editor; Laura Heberton, producer; and Colin Stanfield, festival producer, New York Film Festival at Film Society of Lincoln Center.

The Krzysztof Kieślowski Award for Best Feature Film: "Rams," directed by Grímur Hákonarson (Iceland)

The jury stated: "For its evocative filming of landscapes, for placing us in the midst of a way of life coming to a devastating end, and for making a film that moves us from pure hate to pure love, we award the 2015 Kieślowski award to Rams.

Special Jury Prize: "Lamb," directed by Yared Zaleke (France)

The jury stated: "For its heartfelt, beautifully observed, visually ravishing and emotionally acute exploration of a young boy's coming of age in a rural Ethiopian village, we award a Special Jury Prize to director Yared Zaleke's Lamb."

Special Ensemble Acting Jury Award: "The Measure of a Man" (France)

"For its pitch-perfect naturalism, its ability to find beauty in the otherwise mundane, and for its consistently arresting performances, we award a special Ensemble Acting Prize to The Measure of a Man," stated the jury, which was comprised of: Helen Estabrook, Academy Award-nominated producer; Robb Moss, documentary filmmaker and Chair of Harvard University Department of Visual and Environmental StudiesChair; Gary Ungar, producer/manager

The American Independent Narrative Award: "Krisha," directed by Trey Edward Shults (USA)

Special Jury Prize, Filmmaker to Watch: "H.," directed by Rania Attieh and Daniel Garcia

"Because days later we still can't stop thinking about the audacious storytelling and bold vision of the transfixing H. and can't wait to see what Rania Atteih and Daniel Garcia do next," state the jury, comprised of: Lindsey Bahr, Associated Press journalist and critic; Kerry Bishé, actress; Stephanie Wilcox, director of development and production for Rumble Films

The Liberty Global International Student Short Award: "Disintegration," directed by Álvaro Martín (Spain)

Special Jury Prize for Outstanding Directing: "The Fantastic Love of Beeboy and Flowergirl," directed by Clemens Roth (Germany)

The jury was comprised of: Jenny Bloom, senior film publicist at Prodigy PR; Johnny Simmons, actor; Randi Kleiner, CEO of SeriesFest

The Spike Lee Student Filmmaker Award: "Oasis," directed by Sara Lafleur-Vetter (USA)

The jury was comprised of: Jenny Bloom, senior film publicist at Prodigy PR; Johnny Simmons, actor; Randi Kleiner, CEO of SeriesFest

Feature Screenplay Award: Memory by John Benge. Presented by: University of Colorado Denver's Film & Television Program, College of Arts and Media

Short Screenplay Award: Symposium by Tom Grady. Presented by: University of Colorado Denver's Film & Television Program, College of Arts and Media

Denver Film Festival Awards:

- John Cassavetes Award: John Turturro

- Maria & Tommaso Maglione Italian Filmmaker Award: Nanni Moretti (Mia Madre, Italy)

- Reel Social Club Indie Spirit Award: Benjamin Dickinson (Creative Control, USA)

- Rising Star Award presented by Rise Above Colorado: Alex Wolff (Coming Through the Rye, USA)

- Stan Brakhage Vision Award: Nathaniel Dorsky

- True Grit Award: Decay

Founded in 1978, the Denver Film Society is a membership-based nonprofit cultural institution that produces film events throughout the year, including the award-winning Denver Film Festival and the popular, summertime series Film on the Rocks. With a vision to cultivate community and transform lives through film, the Film Society provides opportunities for diverse audiences to discover film through creative, thought-provoking experiences.

The permanent home of the Denver Film Society, the Sie FilmCenter, is Denver's only year-round cinematheque, presenting a weekly-changing calendar of first-run exclusives and arthouse revivals both domestic and foreign, narrative and documentary - over 600 per year, all shown in their original language and format.

Load comments