It's not every evening when folks float down the hill from The Pinery on a chocolatey high. Must be Kidpower Chocoholic Frolic time!

Year after year this heavenly night entices sold-out crowds of almost 500 to sample to their hearts' delight while raising money for Kidpower's programs to keep children safe.

May 6 was no different. Guests happily donated $81,485 for safety education that has reached thousands of children since 1994. Altogether, Kidpower has trained 48,000 children, teens and adults in Colorado.

Attendees were thanked "for helping kids be confident and safe."

The lady who is the local Kidpower, Jan Isaacs Henry, announced the nonprofit's special 2017 honoree, Stacy Frost, citing her for more than 30 years of work on behalf of children. Frost, supervisor of the Chafee Foster Care Independence Program for El Paso County, has partnered with Kidpower since 2005 for safety education for youths aging out of foster care. Frost is a tenacious advocate for positive outcomes for young people, said Henry.

Sign Up for free: Peak Interest

Your weekly local update on arts, entertainment, and life in Colorado Springs! Delivered every Thursday to your inbox.

Success! Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Henry saluted her board led by Rita Burns: Sheriff's Cmdr. Clif Northam, Christy Crase, Robert Johnson, Ann-Marie Manning, Mary Barry, Amy Folsom, Jeannette Graham, John Henry, Kelly Kissell, Deborah Pearson, Colorado Springs Police Sgt. Jim Stinson, Wynde Stinson, Sara Sugerman, Russ Vogel and Susan Wheelan.

Teen Advisory Board members, who had sold Golden Ticket chocolate bars for the evening's drawing, were Nora Brachtenbach, Paige Campbell, Emma Caro, Keegan Casey, Maggie Cook, Raegan Hamilton, Sydney Kennedy, Lauren Lee, CaolinnMullaney, Grace Sagen, Abby Torrence and Gretchen Venema.

Providing the frolic's music was La Noche Sonora.

Missed this chocolate fun? The next Chocoholic Frolic: May 5, 2018.

Load comments