File, The Gazette


Ben Conlin, sr., Rampart — Determined to improve on his previous state meet performances, Conlin had the race of his life, taking home silver at the Class 5A meet, with a time of 15:27, nearly a minute faster than his 19th-place finish as a junior. Conlin was one of the state's fastest runners, and ran sub-16 in four of his last five high school races.

Caleb Boutelle, sr., Pine Creek — Boutelle capped his senior season with the third-fastest time among Colorado boys’ after the state meet at the Colorado Classic. He ran a personal-record 15:00, beating his PR by 25 seconds. He placed third at the 5A state meet in 15:31 after not qualifying due to injury as a junior.

Erik Le Roux, jr., Cheyenne Mountain — Following a sixth-place finish in 15:46.1 at the 4A state meet to help Cheyenne Mountain take second, Le Roux ran the state’s fourth-fastest time at the Colorado Classic in 15:02 and continues to cut time in the offseason in multiple national races.

Scott Prieve, sr., Palmer — In his first Class 4A state meet, Prieve placed eighth in 15:51.9, cutting 14 seconds off his ninth-place 5A finish as a junior. His season-best 15:23, and a career PR, was earned at the Colorado Classic, where he placed 10th.

Zinabu Engstrom, jr., Coronado — Engstrom saved his best high school race for last, placing 11th place at the 4A state meet in 16:04.7, cutting 50 seconds off his state time a year ago, and 33 seconds off his performance at the Cheyenne Mountain Stampede. Engstrom ran a career-best 15:58.33 at the AAU National Championships.


Knox Exton, jr., Cheyenne Mountain

Alex Maline, sr., Air Academy

Kaden Levings, so., Cheyenne Mountain

Henry Ilyasova, jr., Manitou Springs

Caleb Mann, sr., Liberty


Cheyenne Mountain — Cedar Collins, jr.; Enzo Knapp, jr.

Canon City — Nathan Pontious, jr.

Coronado — Miles Medina, sr.

Ellicott — Jodzuel Juarez, jr.

Harrison — Adrian Sanchez, sr.

Lewis-Palmer — Henry Taylor, sr.

Mesa Ridge — Nathan Cournoyer, sr.; Sam Hunsicker, jr.; Aaron Roberds, jr.; Trey Trevino, fr.

Palmer — Cisco Alvarez, sr.; Joe Lange, jr.

Palmer Ridge — Jake Bach, so.; Colby Schultz, jr.

Peyton — Josh Kearse, so.; Joel Schluessler, sr.; Nathan Schluessler, so.

Rampart — Noah Gandley, sr.

St. Mary’s — Dylan Brush, jr.; Lyndon Gotelaere, so.

The Classical Academy — Nathaniel Brim, sr.; Matthew Edwards, fr.; Ryan Flaherty, jr.; Will Moore, jr.; Chandler Wilburn, so.

Vanguard — Matthew Campos, so.

Widefield — Asher Finch, sr.