County Commissioner Sallie Clark, right, reads a statement from the Board regarding the actions of El Paso County Sheriff Terry Maketa during a meeting where the board voted unanimously to request Maketa's resignation Thursday, May 29, 2014. Michael Ciaglo, The Gazette

El Paso County's board of commissioners played musical chairs on Tuesday, the second shift in two months for the five-member board.

Sallie Clark was named chairwoman, and Peggy Littleton the third commissioner.

The board voted unanimously to name Clark, the District 3 representative, as chairwoman after her tenure as president of the National Association of Counties ended in July.

"Sallie was in line to be chair before she became president of NACo," said Dennis Hisey, the District 4 commissioner who had been chairman since May 31. "She realized she couldn't do both."

Hisey's short tenure in the role came about when Amy Lathen resigned from her District 2 seat to become the executive director of the nonprofit Colorado Springs Forward. Former state Rep. Mark Waller was appointed to replace Lathen to represent the eastern part of the county.

Clark, who was voted in as the District 3 commissioner in western El Paso County in November 2004, served as the BOCC chairwoman during 2006. Clark has served as vice chairwoman several times in her 11 years on the board.

Clark said her yearlong stint as president and two years as vice president of NACo have given her a new perspective that she hopes will help guide leaders from the various county departments and "help the other commissioners achieve their goals."

"I have so much more information to be able to apply here," Clark said. "I know what counties are doing nationwide."

Clark traveled around the country with NACo, meeting with leaders of many of the 3,069 county governments. She has also talked with members of Congress and President Barack Obama about county issues that tend to be similar throughout the nation.

"I've been able to learn from others," she said.

The BOCC chair presides over all meetings, administers oaths, signs county orders and documents related to board business, and executes county warrants.

As the third commissioner, Littleton (District 5) will act as chairwoman when Clark and Vice Chair Darryl Glenn (District 1) are absent.

Clark and Hisey are term limited and will finish their BOCC tenures at the end of 2016.

Load comments