TIMELINE: The Gazette through the years

June 11, 2012

A timeline of The Gazette:


March 23, 1872: The first issue of the Out West newspaper is published. General William J. Palmer and other founders of Colorado Springs launch the newspaper and name J.E. Liller of Chester, England, as editor. Liller and his wife arrive here in January 1872, six months after the town's survey stakes are set. The newspaper is established in a two-story building (the first in Colorado Springs) at the northeast corner of Tejon Street and Colorado Avenue (then Huerfano Street). Within a short time it is decided that Out West is not succeeding as intended.


Jan. 4, 1873: The Colorado Springs Gazette and El Paso County News is issued. The first issue consists of four pages. The newspaper is published every Saturday morning by the Out West Printing and Publishing Co., and the subscription rate is $3 a year. Major Henry McAllister, Jr., a general director of the Town Company, takes charge of the paper.


1877: Benjamin W. Steele, a young college graduate, is put in charge of the paper's editorial and news columns.


May 1, 1878: The first issue of the Daily Gazette, a six-column paper, is published.


1882: Steele acquires control of Gazette Telegraph Printing Co. and purchases a 50-foot lot at 11 E. Pikes Peak Ave., where a $75,000 building is erected.


Nov. 3, 1891: After Steele's death, H.A. Risley, attorney for General Palmer, takes charge of the paper. A year later, Palmer employs William A. Platt of New York as editor and S.N. Francis as business manager.


Fall of 1894: Palmer leases the paper to Platt and Francis, who operate it for two years.


1896: General Palmer sells the paper to a group of young men for $50,000. The group consists of Cornelius Vanderbilt, principal owner; Henry Russell Wray, editor and manager; and William McKay Barbour, business manager. The Gazette Telegraph, which had been published daily except Mondays, becomes a seven-day publication.


1900: I.N. Stevens of Denver buys the paper and runs it for three years. He sells it to McNeil-Babbitt.


1906: Clarence P. Dodge, then owner of the Evening Telegraph, buys Gazette Telegraph, retaining ownership until 1923, when, having previously disposed of The Telegraph, he sells Gazette Telegraph to The Telegraph Co.


1946: The Gazette Telegraph Co. sells the paper to R.C. Hoiles, founder of Freedom Newspapers, Inc. His son, Harry, is named publisher, a position he holds until 1975.


1957: Harry Hoiles moves the newspaper from its Pikes Peak Avenue location to a new plant at 30 S. Prospect St., just east of the downtown area.


1975: E. Roy Smith, publisher of Freedom's newspaper in Lima, Ohio, is named publisher of the Gazette Telegraph, a position he holds until his retirement in 1994, after 48 years with Freedom Communications, Inc.


January 1986: Freedom announces plans to acquire certain assets of the Colorado Springs Sun, a competing daily newspaper founded as the Free Press in 1947 by striking members of the International Typographical Union. The union ran the paper until 1970, when it was taken over by Hank Greenspun of Las Vegas, Nev. Greenspun changed the name to the Sun and controlled the paper until 1975, when it was sold to Bill Armstrong Sr. Oklahoma Publishing Co. bought the Sun and ran it until its final edition, Feb. 28, 1986.


July 1, 1994: N. Christian Anderson is named as E. Roy Smith's successor as publisher.


March 23, 1997: On its 125th anniversary of doing business in Colorado Springs, the Gazette Telegraph name is returned to its roots and changed back to The Gazette, the name used 124 years before.


Dec. 16, 1998: Scott A. Fischer becomes the fourth individual to serve as President and Publisher of The Gazette under Freedom's ownership. He resigns in April 2000.


April 24, 2000: Thomas Mullen, editor of The Gazette from 1981 to 1991, is named as president and publisher of the newspaper.


Sept. 20, 2004: Robert W. Burdick succeeds Tom Mullen as President and Publisher of The Gazette. Tom Mullen retires after 46 years of service with Freedom Communications.


Dec. 10, 2006: P. Scott McKibben succeeds Robert Burdick as President and Publisher of The Gazette after Burdick's retirement. McKibben resigns in August 2008.


Jan. 2, 2009: Steven Pope becomes publisher of The Gazette.


Sept. 1, 2009: Freedom Communications Inc., owner of The Gazette, files a reorganization plan with the U.S. Bankruptcy Court in Delaware


April 30, 2010: The company left bankruptcy on, under the ownership of investment firms.


June, 2012: The Gazette, along with Freedom Communications flagship Orange County Register, were sold to 2100 Trust


Aug. 28, 2012: Dan Steever becomes publisher of The Gazette

Comment Policy

LoginORRegister To receive a better ad experience

Learn more
You are reading 0 of your of 0 free premium stories for this month read

Register Today To get to up to 4 more free stories each and every month

  • Get access to commenting on articles
  • Access to 4 more premium pieces of content!
  • See fewer annoying advertisements
We hope you enjoyed your 4 free premium stories
Continue reading now by logging in or registering
Register Now
Already registered? Login Now