Several school races uncontested; districts cancel board elections

September 11, 2013 Updated: September 11, 2013 at 5:20 pm

Five local school districts have canceled their school board elections for Nov. 5 as a result of unopposed slates.

Calhan School District RJ1, Cheyenne Mountain School District 12, Edison School District 54JT and Manitou Springs School District 14 have withdrawn from the ballot because sole candidates filed petitions to run for seats in those districts, said Jeff Weston, assistant election manager.

Woodland Park School District RE-2 also won't participate in the election, according to Teller County's interim clerk and recorder, Krystal Brown, due to uncontested races for two of its three available seats.

Calhan RJ1's three incumbents, Maria Herndon, Scott Mikita and Rachel Britton, will retain their seats.

In addition to two four-year terms open in Cheyenne Mountain D-12, a two-year term also is available because of a two-year appointment made in 2011. Incumbent Tom Neumann has held that post since then and decided to run for one of this year's four-year posts. Monica Pelso chose to run for the two-year term he vacated and is unopposed.

In Edison 54JT, incumbent Cheryl McComb will keep her seat and newcomer Susan Belveal will take the other.

Manitou Springs D-14's two incumbents, Molly Stevens and Gino Mendoza, will stay on the district's board as well.

Incumbent Bill Blackburn will keep his District E seat in Woodland Park RE-2, and a newcomer, Beth Huber, will take the seat for District B. No one applied for District D, so the new board will discuss filling the slot after the election.

Lewis-Palmer School District 38 also has only one candidate for its District 3, incumbent John Magerko Jr. But the school district will participate in the election because it has a ballot measure asking Monument voters to pass a $4.5 million property tax increase.

No candidate emerged for D-38's District 1, so the school board will appoint someone in the future.

In Cripple Creek-Victor School District RE-1, where all five seats are open, no candidate applied for one of its districts, D. Two districts, B and C, have unopposed candidates, Timothy Braun and incumbent Donald E. Daniel, while Districts A and E each have two candidates running for the office.

After the election, the new board will consider appointing someone who's interested. The seat will be for a two-year period, until the next odd-year general election.

A total of 72 candidates have applied to fill 54 open seats in El Paso and Teller counties, according to the clerk and recorder's offices.

- Reporter Carol McGraw contributed to this story.

Comment Policy

LoginORRegister To receive a better ad experience

Learn more
You are reading 0 of your of 0 free premium stories for this month read

Register Today To get to up to 4 more free stories each and every month

  • Get access to commenting on articles
  • Access to 4 more premium pieces of content!
  • See fewer annoying advertisements
We hope you enjoyed your 4 free premium stories
Continue reading now by logging in or registering
Register Now
Already registered? Login Now