<![CDATA[Colorado Springs Gazette RSS - opinion]]> http://gazette.com/rss/opinion Sat, 22 Oct 2016 03:15:04 -0600 Zend_Feed http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss <![CDATA[GUEST COLUMN: Time for the community to invest in our heart - D11 schools]]> http://gazette.com/guest-column-time-for-the-community-to-invest-in-our-heart-d11-schools/article/1588301?custom_click=rss http://gazette.com/guest-column-time-for-the-community-to-invest-in-our-heart-d11-schools/article/1588301?custom_click=rss

In every election we are asked to make decisions, and often those decisions don't have a direct impact on us. This year, however, we have an opportunity to vote for us. As residents of School District 11, we are voting for our kids, our schools, our businesses, and our community.

D-11 was El Paso County's first school district and sits in the center of our city. Being in the city center, D-11 is the heart that beats in our neighborhoods, our downtown and throughout our business community. When the heart is healthy, the whole body is healthy.

So why is now the right time to invest in D-11? The schools that were built in the '50s and '60s, when Colorado Springs experienced rapid growth, are over 50 years old. They are in need

Read more on Colorado Springs Gazette

Fri, 21 Oct 2016 08:57:12 -0600
<![CDATA[LETTERS: Jobs already on the chopping block; does human life have value?]]> http://gazette.com/letters-jobs-already-on-the-chopping-block-does-human-life-have-value/article/1588300?custom_click=rss http://gazette.com/letters-jobs-already-on-the-chopping-block-does-human-life-have-value/article/1588300?custom_click=rss

Jobs on the chopping block

It's not Amendment 70 that will eliminate jobs, it is a review of the hospitality business model. As The Gazette's Viewpoint points out, McDonald's is rolling out self-service ordering (the photo was in the Wall Street Journal this week), and it will be only a matter of time before all of the fast-food companies will follow suit. Since their business model is fast and consistent food, this makes little difference for the customer. However, in the world of casual restaurants, these folks should be careful in implementing such practices since their patrons expect a "dining" experience.

I tried Chili's Ziosk system and have not been back. When I sit down to eat, I expect to have human contact with the

Read more on Colorado Springs Gazette

Fri, 21 Oct 2016 06:37:26 -0600
<![CDATA[EDITORIAL: Bad line taints strong Trump debate performance]]> http://gazette.com/editorial-bad-line-taints-strong-trump-debate-performance/article/1588204?custom_click=rss http://gazette.com/editorial-bad-line-taints-strong-trump-debate-performance/article/1588204?custom_click=rss

"I'll keep you in suspense."

Those five words are likely to overshadow all else and characterize what otherwise could go down as a solid debate performance by Republican presidential nominee Donald Trump.

At issue was Trump's willingness to accept the outcome, in the event he loses to Democratic nominee Hillary Clinton. His running mate, Indiana Gov. Mike Pence, had said he and Trump would accept the outcome. Trump's daughter, Ivanka Trump, had also assured the public her father would graciously and peacefully accept any outcome.

When pushed on the matter by moderator Chris Wallace, Trump wasn't so sure. He wanted Wallace and other Americans to wait and see. Few will be OK with his attitude.

Read more on Colorado Springs Gazette

Thu, 20 Oct 2016 16:18:23 -0600
<![CDATA[LETTERS: More crashes on I-25; spinning education results]]> http://gazette.com/letters-more-crashes-on-i-25-spinning-education-results/article/1588206?custom_click=rss http://gazette.com/letters-more-crashes-on-i-25-spinning-education-results/article/1588206?custom_click=rss

Need to enforce traffic laws

How many more crashes on Interstate 25 between Monument and Castle Rock must we suffer before law enforcement agencies step up enforcement of our state's traffic laws? It seems that there is a serious crash on that stretch of interstate, on average, at least once a day - and this is when driving conditions are ideal. Too many drivers ignore the speed limits, weave in and out of lanes, knowing that their chances of being ticketed are minuscule.

To those who ignore the speed limits and safe driving practices: please, consider the potential consequences of your driving habits; know and comply with all traffic laws. To those who are charged with enforcing our traffic laws: increase patrols and apply

Read more on Colorado Springs Gazette

]]> Thu, 20 Oct 2016 04:10:01 -0600 <![CDATA[EDITORIAL: The great media meltdown of 2016]]> http://gazette.com/editorial-the-great-media-meltdown-of-2016/article/1588117?custom_click=rss http://gazette.com/editorial-the-great-media-meltdown-of-2016/article/1588117?custom_click=rss

America's race-to-the-bottom presidential race had Donald Trump in Colorado Springs on Tuesday blaming media for a pro-Clinton bias. It's like arguing the Vatican leans Catholic. Trump said:

- "This election is about truth and you're not going to get that from the dishonest media."

- "Hillary's emails are worse than Watergate and media refuses to cover it."

- "The press has created a rigged system..."

Media pundits snickered on TV, but the audience agreed with Trump.

"I don't think it's a conspiracy, like people working together, but the media has it in for Trump," said Sally Graham, as quoted by Gazette reporter Joey Bunch. "He contributes to it, but every story about him is negative, and the media goes

Read more on Colorado Springs Gazette

Wed, 19 Oct 2016 22:34:37 -0600
<![CDATA[LETTERS: Working on solutions for homeless; once one life is devalued]]> http://gazette.com/letters-working-on-solutions-for-homeless-once-one-life-is-devalued/article/1588118?custom_click=rss http://gazette.com/letters-working-on-solutions-for-homeless-once-one-life-is-devalued/article/1588118?custom_click=rss

Working on solutions for homeless

There have been several responses to our faith leaders' letter to the editor on Wednesday, Oct. 12 titled, "No room in the inn."

I don't think we as churches have done enough. I would also say that many of us are working at it. The major organizations in this city directly addressing homelessness are faith based organizations like Springs Rescue Mission, Salvation Army, Marion House and Family Promise. Through Family Promise, my church, Ascension Lutheran, will be hosting homeless families for a week beginning on this Sunday. These families will rotate through a series of churches while receiving support and training until they are able and ready to get their own housing.

Read more on Colorado Springs Gazette

]]> Wed, 19 Oct 2016 04:25:02 -0600 <![CDATA[Fathers be good to your daughters]]> http://gazette.com/fathers-be-good-to-your-daughters/article/1588033?custom_click=rss http://gazette.com/fathers-be-good-to-your-daughters/article/1588033?custom_click=rss He'll catch me, I repeated in my head. But I'm standing on a barstool four feet off the ground! What if he doesn't?" I shut my eyes, crossed my arms, and lost faith. My knees buckled underneath me and I knelt on the chair. I didn't like this exercise. He, calm as ever and simply repeated, "I will catch you. I promise." I stood back up, mustered as much confidence as my eight-year old mind possessed, and fell backward with my eyes shut tight.

This brief narrative depicts a true story of a trust fall exercise that my dad took me through when I was in grade school. In this exercise, he encouraged me to trust him no matter what. My message is to fathers and how they treat their daughters.

Read more on Colorado Springs Gazette

Tue, 18 Oct 2016 15:12:11 -0600
<![CDATA[EDITORIAL: Higher minimum wage law will empower cheap machines]]> http://gazette.com/editorial-higher-minimum-wage-law-will-empower-cheap-machines/article/1588054?custom_click=rss http://gazette.com/editorial-higher-minimum-wage-law-will-empower-cheap-machines/article/1588054?custom_click=rss

Enjoy the company of your favorite retail employees while they still have jobs. Touch-screen kiosks that up-sell drinks and desserts, then take credit card payments, are the wave of the future. The greatest asset of companies selling these machines are $12 and $15 minimum wage laws.

- "Wendy's said that self-service ordering kiosks will be made available across its 6,000-plus restaurants in the second half of the year as minimum wage hikes and a tight labor market push up wages," explained a story in Investor's Business Daily.

- "McDonald's is rolling out self-service kiosks in restaurants across the U.S. that allow customers to order and pay for their food without ever having to interact with a human," explained Business

Read more on Colorado Springs Gazette

Tue, 18 Oct 2016 10:45:17 -0600
<![CDATA[GUEST COLUMN: Minimum wage increase would hurt employment, workers]]> http://gazette.com/guest-column-minimum-wage-increase-would-hurt-employment-workers/article/1588034?custom_click=rss http://gazette.com/guest-column-minimum-wage-increase-would-hurt-employment-workers/article/1588034?custom_click=rss

This November, ballots will ask Colorado voters to amend the state Constitution to increase the minimum wage. Proponents - primarily large labor unions - say it will put more money in the pockets of lower-income workers, but the problems with this proposal will ultimately hurt the very people it seeks to help, along with many others. And worst of all, the funding structure would be locked into our Constitution, denying legislators and community members the ability to make adjustments as the inevitable unintended consequences arise.

One of our members, a downtown small-business owner, pointed out that his payroll can only take up a certain percentage of his sales - taxes, rent, utilities, insurance, and other costs fill the rest.

Read more on Colorado Springs Gazette

Tue, 18 Oct 2016 10:16:12 -0600
<![CDATA[GUEST COLUMN: Assembly has a role to play in affordable housing fix]]> http://gazette.com/guest-column-assembly-has-a-role-to-play-in-affordable-housing-fix/article/1587975?custom_click=rss http://gazette.com/guest-column-assembly-has-a-role-to-play-in-affordable-housing-fix/article/1587975?custom_click=rss

Not a week goes by that Colorado's affordable housing crunch isn't in the news. Yet almost all the remedies proposed in response, typified by Denver's recent imposition of an "affordable housing tax" on builders and homeowners, are only designed to mask the symptoms, not address the underlying causes. That's why the problem persists despite decades of similarly-flawed "fixes."

Maybe we need a different approach; an approach aimed at making the construction of units affordable again, by clearing away the bureaucratic, regulatory and legal barriers that make building entry-level housing virtually impossible in many places. Clearing away many of these barriers is primarily a local responsibility.

Read more on Colorado Springs Gazette

Tue, 18 Oct 2016 10:15:51 -0600
<![CDATA[Reagan Catholics could propel Trump]]> http://gazette.com/reagan-catholics-could-propel-trump/article/1587929?custom_click=rss http://gazette.com/reagan-catholics-could-propel-trump/article/1587929?custom_click=rss

Thou shall not kill would seem to be the most straightforward of Catholic teachings.

New York state legalized abortion in 1970. Soon after, Catholics started leaving the Democratic Party for pro-life Republicans. Democrats could see the writing on the wall. They weren't happy. Society was changing. Roe v. Wade became the national law of the land in 1973. Democrats wanted in on the change and the church on their side as well. Democrats had toiled for years mining the ethnic Catholic vote. They didn't want to give up their mother lode.

This moral migration of Catholics between the Democrats and Republicans is always an issue, especially so in presidential election years. American bishops sometimes slyly point their croziers

Read more on Colorado Springs Gazette

Tue, 18 Oct 2016 10:14:28 -0600
<![CDATA[GUEST COLUMN: Special interests have hijacked our ballot - and our state's constitution]]> http://gazette.com/guest-column-special-interests-have-hijacked-our-ballot-and-our-states-constitution/article/1587875?custom_click=rss http://gazette.com/guest-column-special-interests-have-hijacked-our-ballot-and-our-states-constitution/article/1587875?custom_click=rss

Colorado's constitution has become a dumping ground for bad ideas - drafted, funded and promoted by narrow special interests. Too often, they use big money to do an end-run on the Legislature - the citizens' elected lawmaking body - instead going straight to the statewide ballot with reckless proposals whose superficial appeal and confusing complexity camouflage their real dangers.

Typically, these proposals serve the agendas of only the lobbies that back them and petitioned them onto the ballot. More to the point, many of these proposals don't just change state law; they are enshrined in the state's foundational document by constitutional amendment and cannot be removed except by another constitutional amendment.

Read more on Colorado Springs Gazette

Tue, 18 Oct 2016 10:12:23 -0600
<![CDATA[Perhaps nation can get better options in 2020]]> http://gazette.com/perhaps-nation-can-get-better-options-in-2020/article/1587874?custom_click=rss http://gazette.com/perhaps-nation-can-get-better-options-in-2020/article/1587874?custom_click=rss

Why, out of 320 million people in our country, do we have two presidential candidates - the ultimate picture of national representation - who lack good character?

Their debates are showing that a rapid decline in civility smothers legitimate policy discussion. I suppose this is common on social media, but here we have two senior citizens running for president who, because of their age and experience and the weight of the office they seek to hold, should represent decorum, humility, stability and honor. And from that posture they should respectfully debate, fair and square, their different political visions.

Instead we have a vitriolic mess. The problem is they share a similar deportment - they are first committed to

Read more on Colorado Springs Gazette

Tue, 18 Oct 2016 10:11:32 -0600
<![CDATA[LETTERS: Not enough room in the inn; dishonoring those who've served]]> http://gazette.com/letters-not-enough-room-in-the-inn-dishonoring-those-whove-served/article/1588044?custom_click=rss http://gazette.com/letters-not-enough-room-in-the-inn-dishonoring-those-whove-served/article/1588044?custom_click=rss

Not enough room in the inn

Soon it will be cold in Colorado Springs. As faith leaders in this community, we are concerned about those among us who have few resources to keep warm. Currently, we have less low-barrier emergency shelter space for the increased number of homeless among us. Low-barrier space is open to most all people regardless of having a criminal record or addiction issues or a pet.

As The Gazette has reported, Springs Rescue Mission will have their new facility open in November. It will provide low-barrier space for 150 men and 32 women with some room for overflow in emergency situations. As good as this is, it does not replace the recent loss of our previous emergency shelter that could hold up to 300 people.

Read more on Colorado Springs Gazette

Tue, 18 Oct 2016 07:56:09 -0600
<![CDATA[LETTERS: Recreational pot unhealthy; time to support the marching band]]> http://gazette.com/letters-recreational-pot-unhealthy-time-to-support-the-marching-band/article/1588032?custom_click=rss http://gazette.com/letters-recreational-pot-unhealthy-time-to-support-the-marching-band/article/1588032?custom_click=rss

Recreational marijuana unhealthy

Several years ago marijuana was legalized in Colorado. Since then there seems to be a dispensary on every corner of some towns. I have also seen people from all over the country flock here to be able to legally purchase and grow this plant. As a young resident of Colorado, it honestly saddens me to see all the places I grew up in being surrounded by dispensaries and the culture that comes with it.

I am in total support of medical marijuana and its properties that can help treat certain medical conditions, but I am not in favor of the recreational use of this plant, essentially using it for fun. Recreational marijuana use frankly seems like an unhealthy thing for our communities.

Read more on Colorado Springs Gazette

Tue, 18 Oct 2016 06:56:26 -0600