<![CDATA[Colorado Springs Gazette RSS - opinion]]> http://gazette.com/rss/opinion Fri, 27 May 2016 14:29:47 -0600 Zend_Feed http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss <![CDATA[LETTERS: Problem with craft brewing; suicide awareness needs to change]]> http://gazette.com/letters-problem-with-craft-brewing-suicide-awareness-needs-to-change/article/1576998?custom_click=rss http://gazette.com/letters-problem-with-craft-brewing-suicide-awareness-needs-to-change/article/1576998?custom_click=rss

Problem with craft brewing

Today I saw a TV article about Bristol Brewing introducing yet another IPA style ale. That reflects a problem with the craft brewing industry.

The last time I checked, the craft/micro-brew industry occupies only 9 percent of the U.S. beer market. The "macros" are constantly working to win back as much of that segment as they can.

American craft brewers are doing themselves no favors by constantly concentrating their creativity on yet another overhopped beer. Braumeisters are acting like modern art snobs: creating products that appeal only to the elite "connoisseurs."

If they want to stave off the macros, craft brewers must create brews that have more balance.



Read more on Colorado Springs Gazette


]]>
Fri, 27 May 2016 09:01:40 -0600
<![CDATA[EDITORIAL: Proposal could harm low-skilled workers]]> http://gazette.com/editorial-proposal-could-harm-low-skilled-workers/article/1576999?custom_click=rss http://gazette.com/editorial-proposal-could-harm-low-skilled-workers/article/1576999?custom_click=rss Companies have a "moral imperative" to pay employees a fair wage "they can actually live on." So say advocates of a $12 minimum wage - the latest proposal working its way toward Colorado's November ballot. It may join measures to enact socialized health care and obstruct energy production.

Most rational, compassionate individuals would like to see everyone earn more money. Too many Americans work too hard for too little in return. The fact grown adults are stuck in low-wage, entry level jobs reflects deep-rooted social and economic problems our country must address. These issues cannot be resolved by pricing temporary, low-wage opportunities out of existence.

Laws requiring higher wages may sound good, but can have

Read more on Colorado Springs Gazette


]]> Fri, 27 May 2016 04:35:10 -0600 <![CDATA[EDITORIAL: Locals must fix VA crisis with pilot program]]> http://gazette.com/editorial-locals-must-fix-va-crisis-with-pilot-program/article/1576996?custom_click=rss http://gazette.com/editorial-locals-must-fix-va-crisis-with-pilot-program/article/1576996?custom_click=rss

Veterans Health Administration is broken beyond repair. So let's redesign it right here, right now, in Colorado Springs.

Problems include:

- Intolerable, lethal wait times and a VA leader who compares the dilemma to waiting for rides at Disneyland.

- A corrupt local VA clinic caught lying about wait times by doctoring records.

- VA officials who built a Colorado Springs clinic too small to meet demand.

- A billion-dollar cost overrun involving a new VA hospital up the road in Aurora, and major delays in completion.

- Routine service and wait-time horror stories throughout the country for years.



Read more on Colorado Springs Gazette


]]>
Thu, 26 May 2016 21:35:53 -0600
<![CDATA[LETTERS: Veterans are super heroes; community with dedicated people]]> http://gazette.com/letters-veterans-are-super-heroes-community-with-dedicated-people/article/1576937?custom_click=rss http://gazette.com/letters-veterans-are-super-heroes-community-with-dedicated-people/article/1576937?custom_click=rss

Veterans are our superheroes

Let's finally get this right. Webster's Dictionary defines winning as, "to gain victory." The word lose is defined as "to have taken away from." In both cases one would have to be present to win or lose. In Vietnam, when the soldiers were present, they always won and nothing was ever taken away. When our military left, South Vietnam was an sovereign nation and that can only be attributed to the American soldiers. Later, after the U.S. military left, the Communists eventually took over the south.



Read more on Colorado Springs Gazette


]]>
Thu, 26 May 2016 15:24:56 -0600
<![CDATA[GUEST COLUMN: Springs voters deserve better]]> http://gazette.com/guest-column-springs-voters-deserve-better/article/1576938?custom_click=rss http://gazette.com/guest-column-springs-voters-deserve-better/article/1576938?custom_click=rss

Amid a presidential election year that has been like almost no other - sinking to new lows in mudslinging, smears and cheap shots - I didn't think things could get much worse. Certainly not in my own community. Then, a few weeks ago, I reached into my mailbox and pulled out an envelope with an official-looking return address. I opened it and was stunned.

It contained a letter from state Sen. Kent Lambert praising the state representative of my House district (16), Janak Joshi - and tearing into Joshi's opponent in the upcoming Republican primary election, veteran former lawmaker Larry Liston.

Read more on Colorado Springs Gazette


]]> Thu, 26 May 2016 04:30:15 -0600 <![CDATA[Bzdek: Let's count the many ways Denver magazine was wrong about Colorado Springs]]> http://gazette.com/bzdek-lets-count-the-many-ways-denver-magazine-was-wrong-about-colorado-springs/article/1576658?custom_click=rss http://gazette.com/bzdek-lets-count-the-many-ways-denver-magazine-was-wrong-about-colorado-springs/article/1576658?custom_click=rss

Moving back to Colorado Springs after 30 years, I have been struck most by how the city has become a much more many-sided place. I could tell that it was going to take me some time to understand the new character of the city. It was no longer an easy town to label.

But you wouldn't know that from the recent 5280 magazine profile that resurfaced a host of tired, hackneyed stereotypes about Colorado Springs.

Actually, stereotypes isn't a strong enough word - prejudices might be better. Robert Sanchez's article was a perfect example of what my computer dictionary calls "preconceived opinion that is not based on reason or actual experience."

Let's start with the headline.

Sanchez asserts that Colorado Springs is



Read more on Colorado Springs Gazette


]]>
Wed, 25 May 2016 14:59:14 -0600
<![CDATA[LETTERS: Welcome President Obama to Colorado Springs with respect; too many trash trucks in area]]> http://gazette.com/letters-welcome-president-obama-to-colorado-springs-with-respect-too-many-trash-trucks-in-area/article/1576856?custom_click=rss http://gazette.com/letters-welcome-president-obama-to-colorado-springs-with-respect-too-many-trash-trucks-in-area/article/1576856?custom_click=rss

Lay aside the political nonsense

I am writing in regards to the upcoming visit to Colorado Springs by President Barack Obama for his graduation address at the Air Force Academy.

When he last spoke at the AFA graduation, I was so ashamed and saddened by the total lack of acknowledgment of his position as our president and in fact, lack of respect. Speaking as a second generation native, a mother, grandmother and great grandmother, I strongly hope that we can lay aside the current campaign nonsense and welcome the president with respect and gratitude.

I am also speaking for my late grandfather, Russell D. Law, who was the liaison to Washington, D.C., as a member of the Colorado Springs Citizens Committee, that was



Read more on Colorado Springs Gazette


]]>
Wed, 25 May 2016 09:06:17 -0600
<![CDATA[EDITORIAL: Hick delivers on cybersecurity promise]]> http://gazette.com/editorial-hick-delivers-on-cybersecurity-promise/article/1576857?custom_click=rss http://gazette.com/editorial-hick-delivers-on-cybersecurity-promise/article/1576857?custom_click=rss Gov. John Hickenlooper had a vision and has taken bold action to see it come true.

The vision: "Establish Colorado Springs as the No. 1 cybersecurity city in the country."

The action: The governor advocated House Bill 1453, and signed it into law, to enhance cybersecurity and appropriate money toward his goal.

One of the Legislature's few significant bipartisan accomplishments of 2016 culminated in Hickenlooper signing the bill on the steps of the El Pomar Center on Friday at the University of Colorado at Colorado Springs.

Read more on Colorado Springs Gazette


]]> Wed, 25 May 2016 06:25:10 -0600 <![CDATA[GUEST COLUMN: Find meaning even in ordinary work]]> http://gazette.com/guest-column-find-meaning-even-in-ordinary-work/article/1576855?custom_click=rss http://gazette.com/guest-column-find-meaning-even-in-ordinary-work/article/1576855?custom_click=rss

If you're like me, graduation was a time for thinking expansively about the meaning of work and how to make my mark professionally.

I felt a lot of pressure to do work that was meaningful.

As a Christian, I believed at that time that the reason for work - God's plan for work - was to apply our skills or degree for a mission.

Taking that idea, I accepted my first job at an international nonprofit, an organization that build schools in India and starts micro-loan groups and churches. Over time, these investments in rural Indian communities help to erode a social system that has oppressed millions of Indians - the Dalits - for generations.

Read more on Colorado Springs Gazette


]]> Wed, 25 May 2016 06:25:02 -0600 <![CDATA[EDITORIAL: The perpetual VA disgraces]]> http://gazette.com/editorial-the-perpetual-va-disgraces/article/1576603?custom_click=rss http://gazette.com/editorial-the-perpetual-va-disgraces/article/1576603?custom_click=rss

News flash: The Department of Veterans Affairs cannot get its act together.

During a congressional committee hearing this week, VA officials conceded they built the brand-new Floyd K. Lindstrom Clinic too small for demand. The 76,000-square-foot facility opened in Colorado Springs in 2014 and was apparently inadequate for demand from day one.

The seemingly endless episodes of buffoonery would be comical if not so tragic.

The issue of the clinic's size was given to explain why 25 percent of the facility's patients wait more than a month for care. VA officials said the demand was "unexpected" when they planned the facility.

The VA's notorious delays in service, and the agency's proven efforts to cover them up, are



Read more on Colorado Springs Gazette


]]>
Tue, 24 May 2016 11:33:00 -0600
<![CDATA[LETTERS: Frustrated on expansive soil; how not to react to a situation at Chick-fil-A]]> http://gazette.com/letters-frustrated-on-expansive-soil-how-not-to-react-to-a-situation-at-chick-fil-a/article/1576696?custom_click=rss http://gazette.com/letters-frustrated-on-expansive-soil-how-not-to-react-to-a-situation-at-chick-fil-a/article/1576696?custom_click=rss

Frustrated about expansive soil

Regarding your article on the permits given in areas of known unstable ground: Asking for a permit where you know the ground is unstable is one thing . I bought a house in a "mine" area, after the Realtor checked and said there was no mine under my house on the map. It was flipped before I moved in, and in the nine years since, the south end has sunk 4 to 6 inches, and I am told it is not mine related, it is expansive soil. Yet the house to my south has been a nightmare of the city repairing over and over, with a huge entrance to a mine just behind their garage, and that is beside my garage.

Last year, a huge crack behind a furnace that had been repaired let go and flooded my basement. No one



Read more on Colorado Springs Gazette


]]>
Tue, 24 May 2016 06:17:22 -0600
<![CDATA[EDITORIAL: Public wins big in city land trade with The Broadmoor]]> http://gazette.com/editorial-public-wins-big-in-city-land-trade-with-the-broadmoor/article/1576651?custom_click=rss http://gazette.com/editorial-public-wins-big-in-city-land-trade-with-the-broadmoor/article/1576651?custom_click=rss

The proposed city land swap is a local case study showcasing freedom to assemble, protest, picket and object. It is also a good example of a vocal minority using its freedom to spread what in many examples is misleading and flat-out false.

The City Council will vote on the issue this week, hopefully after considering the real facts of the proposal.

City government, not The Broadmoor, proposed the land swap. Opponents have created a false enemy by portraying this as an initiative of The Broadmoor. City officials asked for the trade, in 2015, to help them achieve years-old strategic goals without an outlay of capital they do not have.



Read more on Colorado Springs Gazette


]]>
Tue, 24 May 2016 06:15:28 -0600
<![CDATA[EDITORIAL: Big Marijuana's 'War on the Poor']]> http://gazette.com/editorial-big-marijuanas-war-on-the-poor/article/1576776?custom_click=rss http://gazette.com/editorial-big-marijuanas-war-on-the-poor/article/1576776?custom_click=rss Big Tobacco takes a disproportionate toll on the working class and poor, but thrives on an image of upscale glamor. Expect more of the same from Big Marijuana.

Media have glamorized the drug since Colorado legalized it for recreational use, but a new story by Politico highlights what seems obvious to anyone in Colorado's most economically challenged neighborhoods. The headline sums it up: "The Marijuana Industry's War on the Poor - Denver's booming pot industry may be trendy, but it's giving poorer neighborhoods a headache."

The "headache" is literal and figurative. The stench of pot is so pungent in some struggling neighborhoods it causes genuine headaches. In a figurative sense, the marijuana gold rush is causing an array

Read more on Colorado Springs Gazette


]]> Tue, 24 May 2016 04:30:16 -0600 <![CDATA[GUEST COLUMN: The downsides for Uber drivers]]> http://gazette.com/guest-column-the-downsides-for-uber-drivers/article/1576775?custom_click=rss http://gazette.com/guest-column-the-downsides-for-uber-drivers/article/1576775?custom_click=rss

There are now more Uber drivers in New York City than there are taxicabs, much to the consternation of the taxi companies. Have you ever wondered why Uber expends so much effort recruiting drivers and not so much soliciting riders?

Uber opened up a free-market niche that allows any qualified individual with a car to make money by serving those who need rides. It fills a market need for transportation generated by a hundred years of protectionism, unionism and government-regulated monopolies afforded to taxicab companies that has predictably resulted in lousy, expensive taxi service.

Read more on Colorado Springs Gazette


]]> Tue, 24 May 2016 04:30:11 -0600 <![CDATA[LETTERS: Veterans health care; ignored, in plain sight]]> http://gazette.com/letters-veterans-health-care-ignored-in-plain-sight/article/1576774?custom_click=rss http://gazette.com/letters-veterans-health-care-ignored-in-plain-sight/article/1576774?custom_click=rss

Improve vets' health care options

The Department of Veterans Affairs has determined that the new Colorado Springs clinic is inadequate because they were surprised by the number of potential patients. I am also surprised that the VA, which has access to the names, ages, addresses and probable ailments of all the potential users, could be caught flat footed about this. Is this just a local issue or is the entire VA structure inept? Corrective action is dependent upon the answer. If it's just a local phenomenon then some personnel issues need to be addressed immediately. If this is systemic throughout, then more draconian measures should be pursued.

Read more on Colorado Springs Gazette


]]> Tue, 24 May 2016 04:30:09 -0600