Rockies announce Opening Day roster

By: The Gazette
March 29, 2014 Updated: March 29, 2014 at 3:30 pm
Caption +
Colorado Rockies pitcher Tommy Kahnle throws during a spring training baseball practice Friday, Feb. 21, 2014, in Scottsdale, Ariz. (AP Photo/Gregory Bull)

The Colorado Rockies on Saturday announced their Opening Day roster.

Click here to view the Rockies' roster.

One surprise was the inclusion of Tommy Kahnle, a Rule-5 pick from the New York Yankees. A hard-throwing right-hander, Kahnle joins a bullpen that includes LaTroy Hawkins, Rex Brothers, Wilton Lopez, Matt Belisle, Adam Ottavino and Chad Bettis.

The starting rotation will be Jorge DeLa Rosa, Brett Anderson, Tyler Chatwood, Juan Nicasio and Franklin Morales.

Jhoulys Chacin, a right-handed starter, and Boone Logan, a lefty reliever, will open the season on the 15-day disable list.

Carlos Gonzalez and Michael Cuddyer will start in left and right field respectively. Center field will be a mix-and-match of Drew Stubbs, Brandon Barnes, Corey Dickerson and Charlie Blackmon.

Charlie Culberson will take Jonathan Herrera’s spot as the Rockies’ utility infielder. The starters will be Justin Morneau at first, D.J. LeMahieu at second, Troy Tulowitzki at shortstop and Nolan Arenado at third.

Wilin Rosario and Jordan Pacheco will be the catchers.


Comment Policy

LoginORRegister To receive a better ad experience

Learn more
You are reading 0 of your of 0 free premium stories for this month read

Register Today To get to up to 4 more free stories each and every month

  • Get access to commenting on articles
  • Access to 4 more premium pieces of content!
  • See fewer annoying advertisements
We hope you enjoyed your 4 free premium stories
Continue reading now by logging in or registering
Register Now
Already registered? Login Now