Save this content for laterSave this content on your device for later, even while offline Sign in with FacebookSign in with your Facebook account Close

Pikes Peak Arts Council Awards recognize local talent

September 23, 2013 Updated: September 23, 2013 at 9:30 am

Humanitarian and arts supporter Peggy Shivers was given a lifetime achievement award at the 13th annual Pikes Peak Arts Council Awards at Stargazers Theatre and Events Center on Friday night.

"She has been a motivating force behind the development of African-Americans in the Pikes Peak region for many years," said Jay Miller, president of the arts council, which has been around since 1968.

The Eve Tilley Award recognized Shivers and the Shivers Fund concerts and biennial Thanksgiving holiday celebrations she founded in 1993 with her late husband Clarence, a well-respected painter. Shivers is also an accomplished opera and jazz singer who has performed around the world, and served on many local boards, including the Urban League of the Pikes Peak Region, Inc., Colorado Springs Dance Theatre and National Association for the Advancement of Colored People.

"I'm just amazed and honored, and I really appreciate them recognizing me in that manner," Shivers said. "I had no idea they were considering such a thing."

Seventeen awards were handed out in categories including classical music, popular music, poetry, theater and visual art.

Winners included the Fine Arts Center for its production of "The Drowsy Chaperone," Chauncey Crandall for solo/duo, Sammie Joe Kinnett for best actor, Alysabeth Clements for best actress, Floyd D. Tunson for artist of the year and Daisy McConnell of the Gallery of Contemporary Art for the Brilliant gala.

Pikes Peak Arts Council members attend as many performances and exhibits as they can during the year, and bring their nominations for categories to committee meetings early in the year. Twenty-one volunteer jurors serve on six committees (the dance committee didn't generate any nominees this year). Once there, they narrow the list of nominees to three per category and vote.

"It's really quite difficult," said Shivers, who also sat on a committee (PPAC won't release the names of committee members) for three years. "We discuss how much they enjoyed it and how well it was performed. We have to give quite a bit of thought and consideration before deciding."

The council's mission is to advocate for and support the arts and artists in the Pikes Peak region.

Miller, a studio artist, has been with the group for five years, and president for the last four. Because of his position, Miller made an exception, revealing that he sat on the visual arts committee.

"For artists, we're looking for someone who has depth in their career, which shows in their art," he said. "Floyd Tunson - he works in many different styles, and that's one of the factors. Most artists are comfortable in their own style or a variety of styles, but he showed excellence in execution throughout an unusually broad range of styles."

Pikes Peak Arts Council Awards


Aventa Credit Union's Spirit of the Arts: Renay Montoya

Classical music

Eve Tilley Lifetime Achievement Award: Peggy Shivers

Classical music

Outstanding performance by a large group: Colorado Springs Philharmonic, Colorado Springs Chorale, Colorado Vocal Arts Ensemble, Soli Deo Gloria, Taylor Choir of Grace & St. Stephen's Episcopal Church for Verdi "Requiem"

Outstanding performance by a small group: Veronika Quartet, for "Around the World with the String Quartet: Austria"

Outstanding performance by a solo or duo: Carl Cook for Ney Rosaauro's "Concerto for Marimba and Orchestra"


Performance poetry: Jonathan Andujar

Promoting poets and poetry in the community: Luke Cissell

Popular music

Outstanding group: Jessie Richardson for Autumn Creatures

Outstanding solo/duo: Chauncey Crandall


Outstanding technical achievement: Murray Ross for Mise-en-Scene; "Everyman on the Bus" (TheatreWorks)

Outstanding performance by an actor: Sammie Joe Kinnett for Berowne in "Love's Labor's Lost" (TheatreWorks)

Outstanding performance by an actress: Alysabeth Clements for Blanche in "A Streetcar Named Desire" (Star Bar Players)

Outstanding production: Scott RC Levy for "The Drowsy Chaperone" (Fine Arts Center)

Visual art

Artist of the year: Floyd D. Tunson

C.I.A. (creative, intriguing and astonishing): Daisy McConnell for Brilliant gala

Excellence in curatorship: Blake Milteer for "Floyd D. Tunson: Son of Pop" (Fine Arts Center)


Rising star: Joseph L. Williams


Contact Jennifer Mulson

at 636-0270.

Register to the Colorado Springs Gazette
Incognito Mode Your browser is in Incognito mode

You vanished!

We welcome you to read all of our stories by signing into your account. If you don't have a subscription, please subscribe today for daily award winning journalism.

Register to the Colorado Springs Gazette
Subscribe to the Colorado Springs Gazette

It appears that you value local journalism. Thank you.

Subscribe today for unlimited digital access with 50% fewer ads for a faster browsing experience.

Already a Subscriber? LOGIN HERE

Wake up with today's top stories in your inbox

Wake up with today's top stories in your inbox

Already a print subscriber?
Already a digital subscriber?
This is your last FREE article for the month
This is your last FREE article for the month

Subscribe now and enjoy Unlimited Digital Access to

Only 99 cents for Unlimited Digital Access for 1 month
Then $2.31/week, billed monthly, cancel anytime
Already a print subscriber?
Already a digital subscriber?

You have reached your article limit for the month
You have reached your article limit for the month

We hope that you've enjoyed your complimentary access to

Only 99 cents for Unlimited Digital Access for 1 month
Then $2.31/week, billed monthly, cancel anytime
Already a print subscriber?
Already a digital subscriber?

articles remaining
Thank you for your interest in local journalism.
Gain unlimited access, 50% fewer ads and a faster browsing experience.