Patrick Roy named Jack Adams Award finalst

By: Associated Press

Comments: 0

Updated: May 6, 2014 at 11:16 am

NEW YORK — Mike Babcock of the Detroit Red Wings, Jon Cooper of the Tampa Bay Lightning and Patrick Roy of the Colorado Avalanche are finalists for the Jack Adams Award.

The NHL Broadcasters' Association voted for the top coach after the regular season. The winner is announced June 24 in Las Vegas.

Babcock led the Red Wings to a 93-point season and their 23rd consecutive playoff berth, the longest active streak in North American pro sports.

Cooper is in his first full season as a head coach. He guided the Lightning to second place in the Atlantic Division a year after they were 28th in the overall standings.

Roy, in his rookie season as an NHL coach, helped Colorado finish third in the overall standings after placing 29th overall the year before.

Patrick Roy named Jack Adams Award finalst

Associated Press Updated: May 6, 2014 at 11:16 am • Published: May 6, 2014

Colorado Avalanche coach Patrick Roy was named one of the three finalists for the 2013-14 Jack Adams Award by the NHL on Tuesday. The award is presented to the head coach who has "contributed the most to his team's success." Detroit's Mike Babcock and Tampa Bay's Jon Cooper were also named...

You've reached your 4 FREE premium stories for this 30 day period*

Register for 4 more free articles.

*A 30 day rolling period starts the day you first visit the site.
Are you a subscriber and having trouble viewing stories?