More Sports Articles

  • Serena Williams gets chance to avenge Halep defeat

    Updated: Sat, Oct 25, 2014

    SINGAPORE (AP) — After Serena Williams' embarrassing defeat to Simona Halep in the WTA Finals group stage, the American narrowed her eyes at the post-match news conference and said she was looking forward to having a chance to avenge the loss. She didn't have to wait long. The pair...

  • Mariota throws 5 TD passes, No. 6 Oregon beats Cal

    Updated: 1 hr ago

    SANTA CLARA, Calif. (AP) — Marcus Mariota threw a rare interception — his first since the Oregon State game last season — on a pass that was deflected twice. Oregon coach Mark Helfrich could only smile. The No. 6 Ducks are on a roll and Mariota's turnover hardly slowed them at all....

  • Finnegan passes test, Royals stop Giants in Game 3

    Updated: 2 hr ago

    SAN FRANCISCO (AP) — Summoned in a tough spot, Royals rookie Brandon Finnegan trotted in from the bullpen, threw his warmup pitches and then did something curious. He walked behind the mound, took off his hat, rubbed his hair and looked at the right-field foul pole. Nervous about...

  • Report: West Point football team recruited high school athletes with booze, women

    By Tom Roeder -
    Updated: 3 hr ago

    The Army football team wooed recruits this year with an alcohol-fueled party, a dinner date with female cadets, cash from boosters and VIP treatment on a party bus complete with cheerleaders and a police escort, documents obtained by The Gazette show. The U.S. Military Academy at...

  • Vargas to take on Vogelsong in Game 4 of Series

    Updated: 4 hr ago

    SAN FRANCISCO (AP) — Even though Jason Vargas will be making his World Series debut for Kansas City in Game 4, the Fall Classic atmosphere in San Francisco will not be foreign to him. Four years ago, while home for the offseason in Arizona, Vargas and his wife decided to fly to San...

  • Parseghian turned around moribund Notre Dame

    Updated: 4 hr ago

    SOUTH BEND, Ind. (AP) — Notre Dame's glory days seemed like a distant memory 50 years ago when Ara Parseghian took over as coach. The Fighting Irish finished 2-7 in 1963. The only thing that prevented them from likely matching the worst record in school history was a game against Iowa...

  • Bishop ousted as PGA of America president

    Updated: 4 hr ago

    ST. SIMONS ISLAND, Ga. (AP) — Ted Bishop was never afraid to take a risk or share his strong opinions on any subject during his 23 months as president of the PGA of America. Ultimately, that wound up costing him his job. Bishop became the first PGA president to be removed from office,...

  • It's no secret when Peyton Manning gets mad

    Updated: 6 hr ago

    ENGLEWOOD, Colo. (AP) — It's all fun and games until Peyton Manning gets mad. Twice in a span of five days, Manning's attention to detail was on full display, from scripting his own celebration of his record-breaking touchdown throw against San Francisco last weekend to calling out an...

  • Royals edge Giants 3-2 for 2-1 World Series lead

    Updated: 7 hr ago

    SAN FRANCISCO (AP) — All season long and deep into October, the Kansas City Royals have relied on their winning formula of fundamental baseball: sparkling defense, a dominant bullpen and just enough timely hitting. It won them a wild card and the American League pennant. And now, it...

  • Lloyd leads US women past Mexico 3-0

    Updated: 9 hr ago

    CHESTER, Pa. (AP) — After the United States' path to the World Cup hit a snag four years ago, Carli Lloyd was happy to help send the team through smoothly this time. Lloyd scored a pair of goals in a 3-0 semifinal victory over Mexico on Friday night, securing the United States a trip...