Colorado Springs News, Sports & Business

Gazette Premium Content Manning names third Rubenstein award winner

Associated Press Updated: May 28, 2014 at 10:15 am

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) — Former Ole Miss and New Orleans Saints quarterback Archie Manning is the third recipient of the Rube award named for the late executive director of the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame.

Manning follows Boo Ferriss and Ben Puckett as recipients of the award, named for the late Michael Rubenstein.

The presentation will be made at the July 25 at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame banquet in Jackson.

While playing in the NFL, Manning won the Byron "Whizzer" White Humanitarian Award, the Bart Starr Humanitarian Award and the Spirit of Good Sports Award from the National Sportscasters and Sports Writers Association for his contributions off the field.

Manning and his wife, Olivia, received the National Pathfinder Award for their work after Hurricane Katrina.

Comment Policy

Our commenting system has changed. Please register or login with your account to comment on a story. Click here for information.

You've reached your 4 FREE premium stories this month

Already registered? Login Now

Get 4 more FREE stories

Simply register to continue.


Subscribe now

Get access unlimited access to premium stories.