Manitou Springs, Ca?n City postpone retail pot issue

September 4, 2013 Updated: September 4, 2013 at 7:30 pm

Manitou Springs added its name to the list of cities and counties in southern Colorado not allowing recreational marijuana sales - at least until the end of this year.

Only one person spoke Tuesday at the Manitou city council meeting, where council members voted unanimously to establish a moratorium until Dec. 31, city clerk Donna Kast confirmed Wednesday.

"They haven't specified when or how they're going to revisit the issue, they're giving it time for more examination," Kast said.

In November, Manitou Springs voters approved Amendment 64 by 67 percent. The amendment legalized recreational marijuana in Colorado. Cities and counties can set regulations for marijuana sales, or ban them.

The Manitou council decided to ask voters in November to implement a sales tax should there be retail marijuana sales in the city.

Mayor Marc Snyder expressed confidence the council would revisit the issue after the Nov. 5 election.

The temporary ban of retail pot sales will give the council time to assess the pros and cons and to consider what the industry could bring to the city. Snyder said the city will not process dispensary applications while the moratorium is in place.

He previously stated the city could channel some of the revenue from a sales tax on pot into much-needed repairs and flood-prevention work.

Ca?n City followed suit, as its city council on Tuesday voted unanimously to implement a moratorium on retail marijuana sales until April 1 - an action that could be lifted or extended at any time.

Ca?n City voters opposed Amendment 64 by a narrow margin in November.

Denver is the only large city in Colorado that has approved the sale of recreational pot. In southern Colorado, Huerfano, Costilla, Saguache and Pueblo counties gave the green light as well.

Conversely, retail marijuana sales have been banned in Colorado Springs, Blanca, Calhan, Del Norte, Castle Rock, Fountain, Palmer Lake, Green Mountain Falls, Monument, and Woodland Park. Pueblo established a moratorium.

El Paso, Rio Grande, Alamosa, Las Animas, Baca, Prowers, Bent, Crowley, Kiowa, Lincoln, Cheyenne, Otero, Custer and Fremont counties have banned recreational marijuana sales, according to the Colorado Municipal League.

Comment Policy

LoginORRegister To receive a better ad experience

Learn more
You are reading 0 of your of 0 free premium stories for this month read

Register Today To get to up to 4 more free stories each and every month

  • Get access to commenting on articles
  • Access to 4 more premium pieces of content!
  • See fewer annoying advertisements
We hope you enjoyed your 4 free premium stories
Continue reading now by logging in or registering
Register Now
Already registered? Login Now