The mission director of the 1976 Viking landings on Mars will receive this year's lifetime achievement award from the Space Foundation.

A. Thomas Young will be presented with the General James E. Hill Lifetime Space Achievement Award, the foundation said in a news release.

Young will be honored May 21 at a luncheon at The Broadmoor, the foundation announced in an email.

Young was nominated by Thomas Moorman Jr., at retired Air Force general and former head of the Air Force Space Command.

Young was with NASA for 20 years, where he was deputy director of the Ames Research Center; director of Planetary Program, Office of Space Science, and director of the Goddard Spaceflight Center. He is a recipient of NASA's highest award, the Distinguished Service Medal. Before retirement, he was executive vice president of Lockheed Martin Corporation.