Colorado Springs News, Sports & Business

Gazette Premium Content Colorado man named as U.S. flag bearer in Sochi

By Joe Paisley Updated: February 5, 2014 at 2:04 pm

Todd Lodwick of Steamboat Springs, Colo. was selected to lead the 230-member 2014 U.S. Olympic Team into Friday’s Opening Ceremony as flag bearer, as announced today by the United States Olympic Committee. Lodwick was chosen by a vote of fellow Team USA members.

“Being nominated to carry the flag at the Opening Ceremony is one of the greatest honors that has ever been bestowed upon me,” said Lodwick. “I couldn’t be more humbled and excited to be selected among all of the great athletes who were vying for this representation. Going into my sixth Olympic Games, it feels like I have already won a medal, and to cap off my career by representing the United States of America and Team USA is truly a privilege.”

Having made his Olympic debut in 1994, Lodwick is the first American to make six appearances at an Olympic Winter Games. After a brief retirement, he returned to claim two world championship titles in 2009, followed by his first Olympic medal at the Vancouver 2010 Games. In 2013, he led the U.S. men’s Nordic combined team to a world championships bronze medal, and is looking to add to his overall medal haul in Sochi.

“I’d like to congratulate Todd on this tremendous honor,” said USOC CEO Scott Blackmun. “Todd is such a deserving representative of our athletes and our nation. His commitment and dedication embody what it means to be an Olympian, and I look forward to watching him represent the U.S. delegation, both at the Opening Ceremony and on the field of play.”

Lodwick is the second Nordic combined skier to serve as flag bearer for Team USA. Rolf Monsen also carried the flag in 1936.

1924     Clarence Abel, Ice Hockey
1928     Godfrey Dewey, President, Lake Placid Organizing Committee
1932     William Fiske III, Bobsled
1936     Rolf Monsen, Nordic Skiing
1948     John Heaton, Bobsled
1952     James Bickford, Bobsled
1956     James Bickford, Bobsled
1960     Donald McDermott, Speedskating
1964     William Disney, Speedskating
1968     Richard McDermott, Speedskating
1972     Dianne Holum, Speedskating
1976     Cynthia Nelson, Alpine Skiing
1980     Scott Hamilton, Figure Skating
1984     Frank Masley, Luge
1988     Lyle Nelson, Biathlon
1992     Bill Koch, Cross-Country Skiing
1994     Cammy Myler, Luge
1998     Eric Flaim, Speedskating
2002     Amy Peterson, Speedskating
2006     Chris Witty, Speedskating
2010     Mark Grimmette, Luge

Comment Policy

Our commenting system has changed. Please register or login with your account to comment on a story. Click here for information.

You've reached your 4 FREE premium stories this month

Already registered? Login Now

Get 4 more FREE stories

Simply register to continue.


Subscribe now

Get access unlimited access to premium stories.