CC hockey notes: CC's all-time team slanted toward recent players

February 28, 2014 Updated: February 28, 2014 at 10:56 pm
Caption +
Colorado College senior Eamonn McDermott, center, tries to get his teammates pumped up during a timeout in the first period against Nebraska-Omaha on Feb. 28 in Omaha, Neb. The Tigers lost 6-0 to the Mavericks. (Matthew Semisch, special to The Gazette)

Earlier this season, Tiger fans voted for their all-time CC hockey greats. Most of the first-team spots going to players from the modern era. Four forwards were chosen for the first and second teams with two defensemen and a goalie apiece.

The first-team forwards are: Bill "Red" Hay (1956-58); Jaden Schwartz (2010-12); Peter Sejna (2000-03); and Brett Sterling (2002-06). Defensemen Tom Preissing (1999-2003) and Mark Stuart (2002-05) made the list as did goalie Curtis McElhinney (2001-05).

The second-team forwards are: Dave Delich (1975-79); Doug Palazzari (1970-74), Marty Sertich (2002-06) and Brian Swanson (1995-99). The defensemen honorees are Doug Lidster (1979-83) and Scott Swanson (1995-99). Ryan Bach (1992-96) is the netminder.

Paper ballots were made available to fans and collected during earlier CC home games.

The eight forwards combined for 673 goals and 941 assists for 1,614 career points and an average of 201.8. Delich, Palazzari and Brian Swanson are Nos. 1-3 on CC's all-time points list.

Eight of the 14 honorees played on teams that reached the NCAA national semifinals while two, Sejna (2003) and Sertich (2005) won the Hobey Baker Memorial Award as college hockey's best player. Both goalies, Hay, Sterling and Brian Swanson are two-time All-Americans.

Ice chips

CC senior captain Eamonn McDermott played for UNO coach Dean Blais at Fargo of the junior U.S. Hockey League. ... The dorm fire that left six freshman Mavericks players homeless on Wednesday was linked to a burning cigarette left behind on a second-floor balcony. ... Air Force senior Jason Torf and three NCHC goalies - Denver's Sam Brittain, Minnesota-Duluth's Aaron Crandall and Ryan Faragher of St. Cloud State - are up for the inaugural Mike Richter Award, which will be given to the top Division I goalie in athletic and academic performance. Candidates were determined by nominations from all 59 Division I coaches. The finalists and winner will be selected by a committee of coaches, scouts and media. ... Five former NCAA players claimed Olympic gold medals, with Duncan Keith (Michigan State) and Jonathan Toews (North Dakota) becoming the first former college players to win gold twice. Vermont, with Patrick Sharp and Martin St. Louis, produced two gold medalists.

Comment Policy

LoginORRegister To receive a better ad experience

Learn more
You are reading 0 of your of 0 free premium stories for this month read

Register Today To get to up to 4 more free stories each and every month

  • Get access to commenting on articles
  • Access to 4 more premium pieces of content!
  • See fewer annoying advertisements
We hope you enjoyed your 4 free premium stories
Continue reading now by logging in or registering
Register Now
Already registered? Login Now