Broncos: Voters get it right with Peyton Manning

By: Paul Klee
January 3, 2014 Updated: January 3, 2014 at 12:09 pm
photo -

It’s quite rare when an NFL player earns a unanimous vote for league MVP. Tom Brady did it in 2011. He was the first

Is Peyton Manning next?

We’re heading in that direction. The NFL All-Pro teams were released today, and there was only a first-team quarterback, not a second-team quarterback. That means Manning received every vote. 

The MVP vote is a little odd. There are 50 votes, but voters don’t rank their choices 1-2-3. There’s only one name allowed for each voter. Brady got all 50 votes in 2011. His 2007 season was historical — but he got 49 of 50 votes. The other went to Brett Favre, presumably from the same man or woman who thinks Favre should un-retire.

(Sidenote: Packers rookie running back Eddie Lacy is a second-team All-Pro. For a small fee — a new fly-tying table —  I’m available to help with the draft this year, Broncos.)

This season Manning (above, on Thursday at Dove Valley) is the only sensible choice for MVP. Lobbying for Jamaal Charles or Russell Wilson or Nick Foles or Brady is simply an effort to be contrarian or get more clicks in Kansas City or Seattle or Philadelphia or Boston.

Media loves being a contrarian as much as they love buffet spreads.

But there’s hope for sensibility: media got the All-Pro quarterback right. This season there’s been only one.

Twitter: @Klee_Gazette

Comment Policy

LoginORRegister To receive a better ad experience

Learn more
You are reading 0 of your of 0 free premium stories for this month read

Register Today To get to up to 4 more free stories each and every month

  • Get access to commenting on articles
  • Access to 4 more premium pieces of content!
  • See fewer annoying advertisements
We hope you enjoyed your 4 free premium stories
Continue reading now by logging in or registering
Register Now
Already registered? Login Now