Three Black Forest Fire board candidates defeated incumbents in Tuesday's election, according to preliminary voting results.

Rick Nearhoof, Jayme McConnellogue and P.J. Langmaid defeated Preston Cooper, Walt Seelye and chairman Eddie Bracken, according to a release from Kathy Russell, spokeswoman for the Black Forest Fire/Rescue district.

The three candidates will now join existing board members Bill Marchant and Rick McMorran to round out the five-person board.

Newly-elected directors will be sworn in at the board's next regular meeting at 6:30 p.m. Wednesday, May 21 at Black Forest Fire Station No. 1, 11445 Teachout Road.

According to Colorado law, the results of the election will not be official until 10 a.m. Friday, May 16, to allow time for overseas ballots to be received and counted, and for the District to certify the final results. As of Tuesday evening, 30 overseas ballots have not yet been returned.

A total of 6,820 ballots were mailed. Of those, 2,531 were voted, Russell said.

Preliminary voting results:

P.J. Langmaid 1,620

Rick Nearhoof 1,595

Jayme McConnellogue 1,579

Mark Fitzgerald 708

Preston A. Cooper 656

Eddie Bracken 613

Walt Seelye 394