More Brent Briggeman Articles

Brent Briggeman

AFA Reporter

  • Hand injury forces Air Force center to snap with other hand

    Updated: Fri, Feb 20, 2015

    Dylan Vail feels like he's competing for a starting position with one hand tied behind his back. Vail's right - and dominant - hand is hidden beneath a cast as damaged thumb ligaments heal after offseason surgery. As a result, the Air Force center will be forced to snap the ball with...

  • Women make boxing debut at Air Force's Wing Open

    Updated: Thu, Feb 19, 2015

    It wasn't her first-ever boxing match that caused Kassie Prusko the most misery Thursday, it was waiting through the four hours after class for the bout to begin. "I was not able to concentrate in class, I was just hyped up all day," said Prusko, an Air Force junior from Chicago....

  • Energetic receivers coach brings "tough love" to Air Force

    Published: Thu, Feb 19, 2015

    Duplicate jersey numbers are common at Air Force during spring football, as players from the junior varsity and varsity merge into one team. Derek Lewis hasn't had a chance to learn the names yet, and when he yelled out "No. 27" after a play in practice Wednesday two heads turned his...

  • Postseason possibilities still exist for Air Force basketball

    Published: Thu, Feb 19, 2015

    By winning three straight home games and four of six overall, Air Force has raised several possibilities for itself with four games remaining in the regular season. If the Falcons (12-13, 5-9 MW) can find three wins over a slate that includes a road game at Colorado State, home games...

  • Spring cleaning: Offseason practice sessions a chance for Air Force to polish its game

    Published: Wed, Feb 18, 2015

    A spring of fine-tuning is underway for the Air Force football team. With a roster full of experience and not yet two months removed from a bowl victory that capped a 10-3 campaign, the Falcons convened Wednesday for the beginning of a 15-practice spring session that will wrap on...

  • Air Force announces hiring of two assistants but not their assignments

    Published: Wed, Feb 18, 2015

    Air Force finally announced the hiring of offensive assistant coaches Steed Lobotzki and Derek Lewis, but it did not reveal what their roles will be on the Falcons staff. The announcement of the hirings came on Wednesday morning, hours before the beginning of spring practice. Lewis...

  • Air Force spring football: Five storylines to track

    Updated: Tue, Feb 17, 2015

    Air Force opens spring football practice on Wednesday. Here are five storylines to track through the next month.   1. Who fills the vacated starting spots? Departing seniors have left two openings on the offensive line (center, guard), two on the defensive line (nose guard,...

  • Mountain West hoops notebook

    Published: Tue, Feb 17, 2015

    AIR FORCE The Falcons are on a roll, having won four of six. But they know this stretch hasn’t proven anything conclusively about their season. One of those wins was against San Jose State, which hasn’t beaten anyone in the Mountain West, another was against a New Mexico squad that...

  • AFA notes: Meeting with No. 1 Denver up next for Air Force men's lacrosse

    Updated: Mon, Feb 16, 2015

    Meeting with No. 1 Denver up next for AFA lacrosse If Air Force's men's lacrosse team hopes to replicate last year's run in the NCAA Tournament, the pressure is on this week as it prepares to face No. 1 Denver. Last year the Falcons won a conference title and automatically advanced...

  • Air Force basketball notes: Legendary coaches honored

    Updated: Sun, Feb 15, 2015

    Legendary coaches honored Air Force observed a moment of silence before the game to honor coaching legends Dean Smith and Jerry Tarkanian, who both died in the past week. Smith started his career as an assistant at Air Force in 1957 before moving to North Carolina and winning a pair...