September 12, 2005
The Mayor’s 100 Teens made their debut Sunday in a ceremony at Armstrong Hall at Colorado College. The teens are role models who have already had major achievements, said spokeswoman Susan McConnell.
“They are not your typical superstars,” she said. “By and large, everyone that is selected into this prestigious group has overcome some type of adversity or obstacle or demonstrated a very strong commitment to serving their communities.” Some have been homeless, she said. Or battled cancer, lost parents, been in accidents, struggled with disabilities. “Yet they manage to succeed,” she said. “They are recognized for not only staying the course, but blazing a new course for themselves and benefiting the community.” The teens will serve on boards and committees, give speeches and serve as ambassadors throughout the school year. Teens in grades 9-11 are nominated in the spring and are selected by a panel of community judges. Here is a list of those named to The Mayor’s 100 Teens: Air Academy High School: David Isabelle Jr., John V. Kelley III, Joshua Wolfaardt Aspen Valley High School: Christina Landrum, Erica Marsden Cheyenne Mountain High School: Corey Bates, James Fredrick, Nicole Freyschlag, Jenna Harkabus, Colin Jenks, Steve Johnson, Jonathan Kidd, Jenna Nichols, Libbie Poremba, Kevin Snider, Eza Solomon CIVA Charter High School: Rebekah Decker Classical Academy: Ashley Crooks, Jennifer Evans, Tommi Sauder, Matthew Spurlock Colorado School for the Deaf and the Blind: Derrick Lawson Colorado Springs Christian School: Wes Lorenzen, Steven von Maltitz Coronado High School: Elisha Burley, Jacob Burley, Paul Goggin, Savanah Weis Doherty High School: Randell Tait Bishop, Attzje Deubach, Travis Gaddie Falcon High School: Marina Thomas, Svetlana Thomas Fountain-Fort Carson High School: Ashley Broughton Fountain Valley School of Colorado: Hannah Duff Harrison High School: Cory Saldana, Erin Trickett Home-schooled: Richie Buck, Andrew Roblyer James Irwin Charter School: Brian Grindle, Tessea Tulloss Lewis Palmer High School: Erica Corder, Whitney Hayes, Toni Klopfenstein, Carrie Waugaman, Brianna Yelle, Imani Young Liberty High School: Madeline M. Anna, Jesse Atencio, Jason Cockerham, Emalee Fulks, Jason Gabriel, Kristin Garst, Victoria Guin, Curtis Owens, Danielle Smith, Lauren Whaley Manitou Springs High School: Corrie Caler, Kameron Moding Mesa Ridge High School: Robert Allen, Nicole LeAnn Black, Cammi Minor, Jessica Waugh Mitchell High School: Kamille Rochelle Abeyta Palmer High School: Laurel Barrett, Elizabeth Binion, Ariane Brown, Renzhang “Danny” Dong, Brendan Donlin, Jamie Drew, Benjamin Harden, Richard Hayes, Alexandra Herman, Brittany Howland, Krishn Khanna, Devin Malloy, Samantha Raum, Branden Thorton Pine Creek High School: Adam Feliz, Mikaela Droz Rampart High School: John Wilkinson St. Mary’s High School: Rachael Broerman, Jillian Nicole Chou, Sean Crane, Victoriya Kania, Jacob Larson, Joey Ruffini, Molly Wigand, Shannon Zeimetz Tesla Alternative High School: Catherine Selina Cervantes Wasson High School: Shakiea Sharea Calloway, Jesse Cruz, Alexandra Hawley, Paul Law, Hector Payan, Auren Daniel Pierce, Jesse Tomkins Widefield High School: Geoffrey Browning, Nina Graham, Tara Hester
Comment Policy

LoginORRegister To receive a better ad experience

Learn more
You are reading 0 of your of 0 free premium stories for this month read

Register Today To get to up to 4 more free stories each and every month

  • Get access to commenting on articles
  • Access to 4 more premium pieces of content!
  • See fewer annoying advertisements
We hope you enjoyed your 4 free premium stories
Continue reading now by logging in or registering
Register Now
Already registered? Login Now