Who's on first? City Council candidates learn where they'll be on ballot

February 8, 2013
photo - 
	 Photo by
Photo by  

Being the top name on an election ballot is no guarantee of a victory -- but it doesn’t hurt.

So Andres G. Pico, a candidate for Colorado Springs City Council District 6, had to be delighted that his got the top spot on the April 2 ballot in a random drawing conducted Friday by City Clerk Sarah Johnson.

“A lot of people just come down to slot No. 1 and check it off,” Pico said before the drawing.

There’s some research to back up the notion that being first on a ballot is an advantage. A 2007 study by the University of Vermont, updated in 2008, looked at the state’s House races over several years, and concluded that, at least in that state, “being listed first on the ballot had a significant and positive impact on a candidate’s vote share." In the 2006 election, candidates listed first on the ballot averaged 3.78 percentage points more of the vote than their opponents.

Other studies have reached similar conclusions, and if they hold true in Colorado Springs, it would mean that one controversial candidate, convicted felon Gary Flakes, could win. He will top the ballot in District 4 on the city’s southeast side.

The results could also favor three council veterans: District 2 incumbent Angela Dougan; former City Councilman Tom Gallagher, who is running in District 3, and Bernie Herpin, who is the District 4 councilman but is a candidate in the newly created District 5.

Johnson went out of her way to guarantee to the candidates that everything about the drawing was on the up-and-up. She explained the process, and held up a wooden box covered with mirrors and opened it to the audience “so you know there’s nothing hidden inside the box.”

The names will appear in the following order. If someone drops out by the withdrawal deadline of 5 p.m. Monday, the candidates who came after that person will move up a slot on the ballot:

District 1 (northwest Colorado Springs)
Julie Naye
Tim Leigh
Linda Mojer
Don Knight
Joe Barrera

District 2 (northern Colorado Springs/Briargate)
Angela Dougan
Joel Miller
Bill Murray

District 3 (southwest Colorado Springs)
Tom Gallagher
Jim Bensberg
Bob Kinsey
Brandy Williams
Keith King

District 4 (southeast Colorado Springs)
Gary L. Flakes
Deborah Hendrix
Dennis R. Moore
Helen Collins

District 5 (central and east-central Colorado Springs)
Bernie Herpin
Roger McCarville
Jill Gaebler
Al Loma

District 6 (north central, northeast, eastern Colorado Springs)
Andres G. Pico
David H. Moore
Ed Bircham

Comment Policy

LoginORRegister To receive a better ad experience

Learn more
You are reading 0 of your of 0 free premium stories for this month read

Register Today To get to up to 4 more free stories each and every month

  • Get access to commenting on articles
  • Access to 4 more premium pieces of content!
  • See fewer annoying advertisements
We hope you enjoyed your 4 free premium stories
Continue reading now by logging in or registering
Register Now
Already registered? Login Now