Hill Climb record book is practically rewritten

June 30, 2013 Updated: June 30, 2013 at 11:45 pm

To anyone who witnessed Sebastien Loeb's history-altering attack on Pikes Peak on Sunday at the Pikes Peak International Hill Climb, they'll most certainly look back on the day's signature moment.

After setting his Red Bull-sponsored Peugeot in the dirt parking area of the summit, he sat victoriously on his ride, sipping his endorsed beverage while his throng of photographers zapped shot after shot, pleading the nine-time World Rally champion to turn their way.

While Loeb stole the show by chopping more than 90 seconds off the previous overall mark on the 12.42-mile, 156-turn course, many other riders also enjoyed their day in the sun, to go with hail, wind and fog.

By the end of the day, most of the record book had been destroyed as well.

In all, eight records fell, six in the motorcycle division and three among those driving cars.

For eight years, Nobuhiro "Monster" Tajima dominated the unlimited division and, in 2011, became the first driver to break the long-coveted 10-minute barrier.

He then switched to an electric vehicle, but his attempt at a ninth Hill Climb title ended when an onboard fire forced an early exit.

With a revised E-Runner Pikes Peak Special, the Japanese racing legend returned to the top, setting an electric record with a time of 9 minutes, 46.530 seconds and cruising to a 36-second victory.

In Exhibition Powersports, Carlin Dunne did his part to etch his name in history.

Riding his Lightning Electric SuperBike, the Santa Barbara, Calif., rider recorded the fastest time by any contestant on a motorcycle with a time of 10 minutes, 00.694 seconds.

"I was riding that edge the whole way, and we set an electric bike record," Dunne said. "We made history for electric bikes and had the fastest motorcycle in this race this year."

Prior to Dunne's record run, five motorcycle records already had been set: Michael Henao in the Pikes Peak 750 division (10:31.499); Jeffery Tigert in the Pikes Peak 450 division (10:32.964); Woodland Park's Codie Vahsholtz in the Pikes Peak 250 division (11:24.792); sidecar driver Wade Boyd (11:26.987) and Michael Coburn in the Quad Modified (11:05.875).

In between record runs by Loeb and Tajima came another less publicized run by Basalt's Paul Dallenbach in the Time Attack division.

Dallenbach crossed the finish line in 9:46.001, breaking the previous mark of 9:46.164 set last year by Rhys Millen.

Comment Policy

LoginORRegister To receive a better ad experience

Learn more
You are reading 0 of your of 0 free premium stories for this month read

Register Today To get to up to 4 more free stories each and every month

  • Get access to commenting on articles
  • Access to 4 more premium pieces of content!
  • See fewer annoying advertisements
We hope you enjoyed your 4 free premium stories
Continue reading now by logging in or registering
Register Now
Already registered? Login Now