More than 150 people including staff and students braved the chilly sunshine Wednesday to watch as four University of Colorado regents were sworn into office at the University of Colorado at Colorado Springs.

“Over the last six years I think we’ve accomplished a lot, and there is a lot more to do,” said Regent Kyle Hybl, who was re-elected to represent the 5th Congressional District.

It was a first for UCCS. Past ceremonies were held at campus and state venues in Denver and Boulder. Hybl and at-large Regent Stephen C. Ludwig, who both took the oath Wednesday, conspired to convince the chairman of the Board of Regents to hold the ceremony at UCCS.

“UCCS today is an equal among its peers,” Hybl said after the ceremony. Those with ties to the campus are making a difference across the system, he said.

Ludwig is the first UCCS graduate to serve as a CU regent, and he accepted his diploma years ago in the same area he took his oath of office.

“It’s really amazing to be here and to see how the campus has grown, and have the chance to give back,” he said.

“Since our founding, the regents have helped guide the university through recessions, depressions, wars and scandal,” said Regent Michael Carrigan in reading the Regent Charge. “We have overseen the growth of the university from one building on a hill to a multibillion dollar, multicampus system recognized through the world.”

Judge Gilbert Martinez, 4th Judicial District, administered the oath of office for three sitting members and one newcomer to the nine-member board.

The board is charged constitutionally with the general supervision of the university and the exclusive control and direction of all funds.

Ludwig said his top priorities for the coming years were to speak with legislature about funding and to find ways to get all the colleges and universities in the state working closely together.

Also sworn in at the ceremony Wednesday were Glen Gallegos, 3rd Congressional District, and Irene Griego, 7th Congressional District. Griego will complete the final two years of the seat vacated by a resignation.