Several tax questions planned for November ballot

July 22, 2011

Four special districts, four school districts and the town of Calhan plan to pose Taxpayer’s Bill of Rights-related questions to voters in the Nov. 1 off-year election, according to the El Paso County Clerk and Recorder Office.

As of Friday’s 5 p.m. deadline to reserve a spot on the ballot, 17 school districts indicated that they will have school board elections. Cheyenne Mountain, Ellicott, Miami-Yoder and Big Sandy (primarily in Elbert County) also will have TABOR measures.

Two cities, Manitou Springs and Fountain, will hold City Council elections, and the city of Colorado Springs has set aside space but has not yet said what ballot measures might be proposed. A task force is looking at options for the future of Memorial Health System.

Entities have until Aug. 23 to pull out of the election. Sept. 20 is the deadline for submitting the text of ballot questions.

Calhan will ask voters whether to join the Pikes Peak Rural Transportation Authority and levy a one-cent sales tax on purchases within the city limits.

TABOR questions can include tax increase proposals, permission to retain excess revenue or other matters.

Park Forest Water District in north-central El Paso County, for example, is considering asking voters to allow the district to take out a loan for capital improvements, said Kathy Marx, office manager.

But the district’s board won’t decide until next month, she said, and may mail its own ballot instead of piggybacking on the coordinated election ballot.  

“We will be doing something. As to what and how it’ll be done, we don’t know yet,” Marx said.
Because property valuations have decreased, County Clerk and Recorder Wayne Williams said some districts that rely on property tax revenue may ask voters to increase rates to be able to provide the same level of services.

That’s what the Black Forest Fire Protection District intends to do. The district will seek a mill levy increase to maintain its nine paid staff of firefighters, paramedics and emergency medical technicians, according to Ray Sherrier, a volunteer.


Governmental jurisdictions

City of Colorado Springs
City of Fountain
City of Manitou Springs
Town of Calhan

School Districts

Academy School District No. 20
Big Sandy School District No. 100J (primarily in Elbert County)
Calhan School District No. RJ1
Cheyenne Mountain School District No. 12
Colorado Springs School District No. 11
Edison School District No. 54
Ellicott School District No. 22
Falcon School District No. 49
Fountain/Fort Carson School District No. 8
Hanover School District No. 28
Harrison School District No. 2
Lewis-Palmer School District No. 38
Manitou Springs School District No. 14
Miami-Yoder School District No. 60
Peyton School District No. 23
RE-2 Fremont/Florence School District No. 39 (primarily in Fremont County)
Widefield School District No. 3

Special Districts

Black Forest Fire Protection District
Falcon Fire Protection District
Park Forest Water District
Security Water district

Source: El Paso County Clerk and Recorder Office’s Election Department

Comment Policy

LoginORRegister To receive a better ad experience

Learn more
You are reading 0 of your of 0 free premium stories for this month read

Register Today To get to up to 4 more free stories each and every month

  • Get access to commenting on articles
  • Access to 4 more premium pieces of content!
  • See fewer annoying advertisements
We hope you enjoyed your 4 free premium stories
Continue reading now by logging in or registering
Register Now
Already registered? Login Now