Springs police sergeant to be honored in Washington D.C.

May 10, 2011
photo - Colorado Springs Police Sgt. Ron Sheppard Photo by Gazette file photo
Colorado Springs Police Sgt. Ron Sheppard Photo by Gazette file photo 

Ron Sheppard supervised 125  high risk missions in 2010.

The most dangerous one earned him a trip to Washington D.C.

Sheppard, a Colorado Springs police sergeant, will receive an honorable mention award Thursday evening from the National Association of Police Organizations as part of its annual TOP COPS ceremony in the nation’s capitol, the association said in a news release.

He is the second officer from the Colorado Springs Police Department in as many years to be honored at the ceremony. In 2010, officer Ryan Jacobsen shook the hand of President Barack Obama after receiving one of 10 Top Cop awards.

The two men were nominated for the awards after fatally shooting men who raised handguns at them.

Sheppard, the head of the Police Department’s SWAT unit, was tracking Gregory Burns during an undercover operation on June 4, 2010 when Burns fled — running across a street and into the Greentree Village Apartments, near North Academy Boulevard and North Carefree Circle.

The sergeant chased after Burns, who rushed up a flight of stairs and began pounding on one of the doors. When Sheppard told him to stop, Burns pulled a 9mm gun from his waistband, according to a release from the police association.

Sheppard pulled his own gun and shot the man.

His actions that day led to Police Department awarding him the Medal of Valor in September 2010 — his third time winning the award, tying a department record. He also won the award in 1996 and 2002.

Sheppard could not be reached Tuesday for comment.

Last year’s national honoree, Jacobsen, shot and killed one of two burglars who forced their way into a Colorado Springs home on May 17, 2009. After shooting the armed man, he ran after the second burglar and subdued him with a stun gun.

Jacobsen also won the department’s Medal of Valor that year.

John Walsh, who hosts the television show “America’s Most Wanted,” will host this year’s ceremony, which will feature fewer politicians but myriad other television stars.

Comment Policy

LoginORRegister To receive a better ad experience

Learn more
You are reading 0 of your of 0 free premium stories for this month read

Register Today To get to up to 4 more free stories each and every month

  • Get access to commenting on articles
  • Access to 4 more premium pieces of content!
  • See fewer annoying advertisements
We hope you enjoyed your 4 free premium stories
Continue reading now by logging in or registering
Register Now
Already registered? Login Now