Colorado Springs News, Sports & Business

Gazette Premium Content 10 area teachers earn national recognition

KRISTINA IODICE Updated: January 26, 2011 at 12:00 am

Seven people in Colorado Springs School District 11 and three teachers in other districts have measured up to the highest standards of teaching in the country.

The have achieved National Board Certification by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards.

Those who were certified include teachers, coaches and mentors, and come from different schools and programs in the district:

• Mary Durham, music teacher, Scott Elementary School
• Rebecca Frazier, coach, Teachers Coaching Teachers Program
• Hillary Hienton, social studies teacher, Palmer High School
• Joan Keating, math teacher, Wasson High School
• Tina Robertson, first grade teacher, Keller Elementary School
• Leah Segura, mentor, district induction program
• Janette Watts, kindergarten teacher, Twain Elementary School

Three teachers from other districts joined the District 11 support program and also were certified:

• Donna Brooks, Woodmen Hills Elementary School, Falcon School District 49

• Mary Eberle, Skyway Park Elementary School, Cheyenne Mountain School District 12

• Tiffany Kentile, Cheyenne Mountain Middle School, District 12

Teachers with National Board Certification volunteer to go through a 400 to 600 hour performance-based assessment that measures what accomplished teachers should know and be able to do. It can take up to three years to complete the process.

There are 29 teachers with National Board Certification  in District 11, and more than 500 in Colorado.

Comment Policy
Colorado Springs Gazette has disabled the comments for this article.
You've reached your 4 FREE premium stories this month

Already registered? Login Now

Get 4 more FREE stories

Simply register to continue.


Subscribe now

Get access unlimited access to premium stories.