Air Force men's hoops will face lighter schedule this season by choice and chance

By Brent Briggeman Published: August 16, 2013 | 7:35 pm 0

Like everyone else, Air Force men's basketball coach Dave Pilipovich didn't find out which two conference opponents he would partially dodge this coming season until seeing the schedule on Friday afternoon.

He was pleasantly surprised to learn defending conference champion New Mexico was one of them.

"I'd have been happier if it had said zero," Pilipovich said. "I'd rather not play them any time, but one is better than two."

Under the Mountain West's new format with 11 teams, each school has two opponents that it will play just once. Air Force learned Friday that it would play at New Mexico and host Utah State, while it will face the conference's other eight teams both home and away.

Logistically, it seemed the computer-generated schedule picked an odd two teams to partially skip. Air Force is New Mexico's shortest trip in the league and Utah State is among the four closest opponents for Air Force.

Pilipovich said teams were asked to list two rivalries they'd like to protect - he opted for Front Range foes Colorado State and Wyoming - and the computers took it from there.

That was the part of the schedule Air Force couldn't control. The nonconference was up to them, and it's clearly a schedule built for a team that knew it was about to have some substantial losses on the court.

Unlike last year, when Wichita State and Florida provided early tests (and losses) as the Falcons rode five seniors to an 18-14 record, Air Force is taking a far more low-key approach this season. Less-than A-list programs like Jackson State, Arkansas-Pine Bluff, South Dakota and UC Riverside are among the teams that will visit Clune Arena as the Falcons have an eight-game stretch of home games in November and December.

The top two nonconference foes - Richmond (Nov. 27) and Colorado (Nov. 30) - both visit the Falcons as part of multiyear deals.

"I like it," Pilipovich said. "Hopefully it will be a good year for us. Hopefully it will be a good growing year for us to learn and get better each game."

The Air Force women also released their schedule on Friday, and it includes a difficult opener at North Carolina on Nov. 8.

 

Air Force Academy Men’s Basketball Schedule

Day Date Opponent Site Time

Sun. Nov. 3 Regis University (Exh.) USAFA 2 p.m.

All-Military Classic

Fri. Nov. 8 Air Force vs. Army (ESPNU) Lexington, VA 11 a.m.

Citadel vs. VMI Lexington, VA TBA

Sat. Nov. 9 Third-Place Game Lexington, VA TBA

Championship Game Lexington, VA TBA

Thurs. Nov. 14 Jackson State USAFA TBA

Sun. Nov. 17 Arkansas-Pine Bluff USAFA TBA

Wed. Nov. 20 Colorado Christian USAFA TBA

Wed. Nov. 27 Richmond USAFA TBA

Sat. Nov. 30 Colorado USAFA TBA

Thurs. Dec. 5 South Dakota USAFA TBA

Mon. Dec. 9 Western State USAFA TBA

Sat. Dec. 14 UC Riverside USAFA TBA

Sat. Dec. 21 UC Davis Davis, CA TBA

Wed. Jan. 1 Utah State* USAFA TBA

Sat. Jan. 4 UNLV* Las Vegas, NV TBA

Wed. Jan. 8 Fresno State* Fresno, CA TBA

Sun. Jan. 12 San Diego State* (ESPN3) USAFA TBA

Wed. Jan. 15 San Jose State* USAFA TBA

Sat. Jan. 18 Colorado State* Fort Collins, CO TBA

Wed. Jan. 22 Wyoming* USAFA TBA

Wed. Jan. 29 Boise State* Boise, ID TBA

Sat. Feb. 1 Nevada* Reno, NV TBA

Wed. Feb. 5 Fresno State* USAFA TBA

Sat. Feb. 8 Colorado State* USAFA TBA

Wed. Feb. 12 San Jose State* San Jose, CA TBA

Sat. Feb. 15 San Diego State* (CBSSN) San Diego, CA TBA

Sat. Feb. 22 Nevada* USAFA TBA

Wed. Feb. 26 Wyoming* Laramie, WY TBA

Sat. Mar. 1 UNLV* (ESPN3) USAFA TBA

Wed. Mar. 5 New Mexico* Albuquerque, NM TBA

Sat. Mar. 8 Boise State* (ESPN3) USAFA TBA

Wed.-Sat. Mar. 12-15 MW Championships Las Vegas, NV TBA

* Mountain West Opponent

Comment Policy
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
APR
24
APR
25
APR
26
APR
27
APR
28
APR
29
APR
30
MAY
1
MAY
2
MAY
3
MAY
4
MAY
5
MAY
6
MAY
7
Advertisement