Air Force, Colorado College give out hockey awards

April 6, 2014 Updated: April 7, 2014 at 11:30 am
photo - Colorado College players surround head coach Scott Owens during a timeout in the third period Saturday, Jan. 7, 2012, at the World Arena in Colorado Springs, Colo.  (The Gazette, Christian Murdock)
Colorado College players surround head coach Scott Owens during a timeout in the third period Saturday, Jan. 7, 2012, at the World Arena in Colorado Springs, Colo. (The Gazette, Christian Murdock) 

Air Force and Colorado College recognized their players' achievements at team award banquets Sunday with the Falcons also announcing leaders for next season.

Juniors George Michalke III and Dan Weissenhofer were named as co-captains for the Falcons.

Michalke also garnered the team's most inspirational award after returning from a head injury that ended his sophomore season in October 2012. The forward played 32 games this season (20 points).

Defenseman Weissenhofer was named the Defensive Player of the Year thanks to a plus-11 rating. He and the other juniors, including team MVP Cole Gunner (44 points), are anxious to get started.

"That is exactly how we all feel," Weissenhofer said. "We are ready to get the season going knowing we have just one more year to win a championship."

With the announcement of Tigers coach Scott Owens' resignation, Colorado College did not name its captains for next season.

It did take time to recognize freshman defenseman Jaccob Slavin, who garnered three awards: top scorer, Rookie of the Year and Most Valuable Player.

"They have a great attitude in this program that helped me a lot," Slavin said.

Senior Eamonn McDermott also garnered multiple awards, sharing the scholar-athlete award with senior Alexander Krushelnyski and the sportsmanship honor with senior center Jeff Collett.

"It's bittersweet because you don't want to leave," Collett said.

Senior wing Michael Morin took home the inaugural Scott Winkler Award for his "humility, optimism and support," that reflected the personality of the former player who died of an undiagnosed heart condition in June.

The banquet ended a tough season for the Tigers (7-24-6) but senior goalie Josh Thorimbert said the players had reason to hold their heads high.

"We played with heart the entire year and we should be proud of that," he said.


Team honorees

Air Force

Chuck Delich Award (team MVP) -- Junior forward Cole Gunner

Defensive Player of the Year -- Junior Dan Weissenhofer

Jim Bowman Award (top scholar-athlete) -- Senior defenseman Adam McKenzie

Vic Heyliger Award (dedication, character, leadership and work ethic) -- Senior forward Ryan Timar

Most Improved Player -- Senior forward Mitch Torrel

John Matchefts Award (top freshman) - Defenseman Johnny Hrabovsky

Larry Cronk Award (inspirational player) -- Junior forward George Michalke III

Colorado College

Thayer Tutt Award (MVP) -- Freshman defenseman Jaccob Slavin, (25 points, 20 assists)

Paul Markovich Award (top scholar-athlete) - Senior defenseman Eamonn McDermott; senior wing Alexander Krushelnyski

Bob Johnson Award (top freshman) - Slavin

Dave Peterson Award (most improved) - Junior wing Scott Wamsganz

M.B. Hopper Award (top scorer) - Slavin

Rodman Award (sportsmanship) - McDermott; senior center Jeff Collett

Scott Winkler Award (humility, optimism, support) - Senior wing Michael Morin

Steve Ebert Award (dedication, desire, ability and sportsmanship) - Senior goalie Josh Thorimbert

Joni Brandner Memorial Award (dedication to Tiger hockey) - student statistician Victoria Thomas

Comment Policy

LoginORRegister To receive a better ad experience

Learn more
You are reading 0 of your of 0 free premium stories for this month read

Register Today To get to up to 4 more free stories each and every month

  • Get access to commenting on articles
  • Access to 4 more premium pieces of content!
  • See fewer annoying advertisements
We hope you enjoyed your 4 free premium stories
Continue reading now by logging in or registering
Register Now
Already registered? Login Now