Save this content for laterSave this content on your device for later, even while offline Sign in with FacebookSign in with your Facebook account Close

5 games to watch: Colorado Springs Switchbacks schedule

January 31, 2017 Updated: January 31, 2017 at 6:14 pm
0
photo -

The United Soccer League announced its 2017 regular-season schedule Tuesday and there will be some familiar faces returning to Switchbacks Stadium.
Most of the 15 home games are on Saturdays.
The move comes after an offseason announcement by the USL to spread out the season more to enable more weekend games and perhaps, better attendance. No times were announced.

Some highlights:

March 25, Season opener at Tulsa
The regular-season opener and finale on Oct. 14 pair the Switchbacks, 14-10-7 last season, against perennial cellar-dweller Tulsa, which has reportedly gone through a roster overhaul.
With both teams adding a number of new faces, it will be interesting to see how the two Western Conference foes match up.

April 1, Home opener against Oklahoma City
No, Switchbacks fans, Miguel Gonzalez leaving the Switchbacks to play with his brother Dani on the OKC Energy is not some elaborate April Fools prank, no matter how much some may want it to be. But this game will force local fans to get accustomed to seeing their favorites in different jerseys.

April 15, Salt Lake City at Colorado Springs
If there is a natural rival with the Switchbacks the Real Monarch SLC (Salt Lake City) has to be a front-runner. The two teams have played several times in two seasons, including in the U.S. Open Cup competition, and do not seem to like each other.

Sept. 9, Phoenix at Colorado Springs
Phoenix Rising, formerly Arizona United, is likely to be better after a roster overhaul from last season.
Of note, Cheyenne Mountain High School graduate and MLB pitcher Brandon McCarthy is a minority owner in the franchise.

Oct. 10, Sacramento at Colorado Springs
OK, there’s no way of knowing the playoff implications now, but the home finale should prove critical against the Western Conference powerhouse if Colorado Springs is contending as the postseason nears.

2017 Switchbacks schedule

Saturday, March 25, Colorado Springs at Tulsa

Saturday, April 1, Oklahoma City at Colorado Springs

Friday, April 7, Colorado Springs at San Antonio

Wednesday, April 12, Colorado Springs at Rio Grande Valley

Saturday, April 15, Salt Lake City at Colorado Springs

Saturday, April 22, Colorado Springs at Reno

Saturday, April 29, Seattle at Colorado Springs

Friday, May 5, Tulsa at Colorado Springs

Wednesday, May 10, Colorado Springs at Portland

Sunday, May 14, Colorado Springs at Vancouver

Saturday, May 20, Colorado Springs at Salt Lake City

Saturday, May 27, Reno at Colorado Springs

Saturday, June 3, Oklahoma City at Colorado Springs

Saturday, June 10, Colorado Springs at Los Angeles

Wednesday, June 21, Colorado Springs at Kansas City

Saturday, June 24, San Antonio at Colorado Springs

Saturday, July 1, Rio Grande Valley at Colorado Springs

Saturday, July 8, Vancouver at Colorado Springs

Saturday, July 15, Colorado Springs at Phoenix

Saturday, July 22, Colorado Springs at Oklahoma City

Saturday, July 29, Seattle at Colorado Springs

Saturday, Aug. 5, Portland at Colorado Springs

Tuesday, Aug. 8, Colorado Springs at Orange County

Saturday, Aug. 12, Colorado Springs at Salt Lake City

Friday, Aug. 18, LA at Colorado Springs

Saturday, Sept. 2, Colorado Springs at Sacramento

Saturday, Sept. 9, Phoenix at Colorado Springs

Saturday, Sept. 16, Colorado Springs at Seattle

Saturday, Sept. 23, Kansas City at Colorado Springs

Saturday, Sept. 30, Orange County at Colorado Springs

Saturday, Oct. 7, Sacramento at Colorado Springs

Saturday, Oct. 14, Colorado Springs at Tulsa

Comment Policy
Register to the Colorado Springs Gazette
Register to the Colorado Springs Gazette
Subscribe to the Colorado Springs Gazette

It appears that you value local journalism. Thank you.

Subscribe today for unlimited digital access with 50% fewer ads for a faster browsing experience.

Already a Subscriber? LOGIN HERE

Subscribe to the Colorado Springs Gazette

It appears that you value local journalism. Thank you.

Subscribe today for unlimited digital access with 50% fewer ads for a faster browsing experience.

Subscribe to the Colorado Springs Gazette

Some news is free.
Exceptional journalism takes time, effort and your support.

Already a Subscriber? LOGIN HERE

articles remaining
×
Thank you for your interest in local journalism.
Gain unlimited access, 50% fewer ads and a faster browsing experience.